Interesting…..

I just realized something…

While I was on my trip, ย I decided to be completely ED hang-up free. Meaning I ate whatever everyone else ate and I ate a lot of it. Actually it got to the point that I was leaving every lunch feeling slightly overstuffed and wondering how in God’s good name I fit all that food in my belly. And there was no shortage of desserts as well ๐Ÿ˜‰ And yet …

My stomach issues were almost non existant (well not counting the day’s I ODed on hummus and pumkin pie :P), I wasn’t bloated and I felt less “fat” then I did while at home. If anything I felt more toned and lean and even have some motivation to gain a bit more.

Now that I’m back home however – I’m feeling bloated and kind of meh again. So what’s the deal with this? Eat more to feel better? – Is it what I eat, how I’m eating, or how much I’m eating.

Maybe it has to do with intuitive eating and the lack of portion sizes? Or the quality of the food or slowed down atmosphere. Whatever the case may be, eating much more to feel better is an inteteresting observation.

Just thought I’d share ๐Ÿ™‚

4 comments

  1. I think it could have a lot to do with your environment.
    When you’re away from home,everything is different: Your schedule,the people,the place… And,of course,the food. A total change,and that is probably what might make it a bit easier to differentiate yourself from your daily struggles and ED-related habits/ thoughts.
    Back at home,it comes back to normal and since you’re practically “used to” having stomach issues/ Ed thoughts/ special habits etc.; since you consider it as your everyday life,these problems also reoccur.
    I understand you very well because I experience similar things regularly.

  2. I agree with Kat. I think the environment definitely makes a different. Especially in terms of stress level. Back home, you are back in the routine of everyday life and the stresses that that unconsciously causes on your system. But on vacation, you are relaxed, you are not over thinking and you are free to just destress ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m not sure it even has to do with the amount of food you are eating (although it could have to do with the types of food you were eating–was it locally grown vs supermarket?)

    Hugs. So proud of you for enjoying the vacation and ignoring any ed related thought. โค

    • I’m definitely starting to believe it’s an environment thing. Being able to sit down and take my time eating a meal as opposed to eating “on the go” all the time, definitely made a huge difference in term of good digestion. Oh and the quality of food was different too, it was all home grown as opposed to supermarket “convenience food”. The things is though I felt so amazing it’s really hard to bring those good habits back home ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • Hugs. Maybe you can try and set aside one day of the week when you are not super busy to sit down for your breakfast and/or lunch and/or dinner. That way you can simulate that peaceful environment at least once in awhile. It’s super hard, though, especially when we get back into the routine of everyday life and stress…but maybe if you try to focus on the experience that you had during vacation to help with the calmness, it might help? Hugs. I know exactly what you mean, though! Especially with the quality of food being home grown instead of supermarket preservatives. If only we could have vacation time all the time ๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

