Experiment – day 1 and 2

Thank you guys who commented on my last post. It’s good to know that you’re not alone in all this appetite madness. It really does get a bit overwhelming at times, but I’m trying to keep a positive attitude and enjoy this whole learning process.

I thought it might be fun to do an online journal of sorts of this eating experiment of mine. Since it’s  all a learning process I thought maybe if I put it out there it might be helpful to someone else down the line. And if not, well it provides some perspective for me in the long run. So here goes…

 

Day 1:

Breakfast was a protein omlet/pancake of sorts topped with apple sauce, almonds and flax.  Was good and filling, but didn’t sit in my stomach too long, no stomach pain (which is always a plus).

The rest of the day my eating was sporatic because  was on the go all day long, working out some paper work at my uni. Snacks were fruit and lunch was split pea soup and some rice cakes with butter and an egg. I seem to be cravin butter like it’s no bodies buisness, I’m imagining it’s my bodies way of asking for more fat. My evening meal was eaten at work – that was a PB sandwich and a banana. I think I’m in the habit of muching in the evening because before sleeping I drank a cup of steamed soy milk and called it a night.

Day 2:

I woke up SO hungry this morning. Usually it takes at leat 30 minutes to an hour after I first open my eyes before my appetite kicks in, but today it was there since I opened my eyes.  I was missing my beloved oats and decided to try some this morning, but I was so hungry I felt it wasn’t enough so I boiled an egg as well. After eating I was STUFFED, but my stomach hurt, I was bloated and then hungry less then two hours later – what the heck?

 

I should have known to eat sooner, but I was silly and I tried to hold off my hunger till lunch – BAAAD idea. Ended up eating way more junk then I wanted to for lunch and then feeling guilty for the rest of the day because of it.  Lesson learned – listen to your body and not your head. The rest of the day was some pretty sporatic eating at work – I was starving all day and seemed to be munching anything and everything and drinking loads and loads of coffee.  I still need to figure out if the oats were the cause of my stomach troubles this morning, and if a carb heavy meal is really what I need to kick off the day. Also, I think I need to go on a mini-sugar and coffee detox – I still have my pre-exam habit of 4 coffees a day, which is robbing my body of vitamins and seriously sabotaging my energy I think.

So goals for tomorrow – drink less coffee, eat more fats and learn to savor your food/don’t let yourself get too hungry.

Also operation “love your body” needs to get a seriouse boost because I had my first really bad body image day in a while :(. I actually broke down a little earlier on because I just feel so… bleh. Anyhow, tomorrows a new day, and hopefully a better one.

 

What’s one food you think you could never live without? For me it used to be my beloved oats – but I guess life likes to surprise you when you least expect it.

3 comments

  1. I know exactly how you feel about having bad body image when your body is disagreeing with you. I have been going through some stomach issues as well and it’s been really hard to pinpoint exactly what is causing it but it sure is unpleasant. So you aren’t alone in that. 🙂
    From my observations of your meals, I think you didn’t eat enough on day 1 which is why you woke up so hungry the next day. Just my opinion so don’t take it the wrong way.
    I know what you mean about craving oats. For me, it’s one of the foods that my stomach can handle well so I’ve been eating them at least once a day.
    Can you eat brown rice or other grains like quinoa? It’s not the same as oats but if you are looking for a carby breakfast: cook rice and then reheat it with soy milk, raisins, and cinnamon; it tastes like like rice pudding. Thicken with cornstarch if it is watery. Some other foods that I find really filling and satisfy carb-cravings are potatoes (sweet or white), squash, and beans. I don’t know if you can tolerate those but just my suggestions!

    • I agree with you about the extra hunger being caused by not eating enough on day one. I didn’t mention EVERYTHING i ate, but it’s still less then I normally do. Oh well, we live and learn. Potatoes and squash sit really well with me, so I need to start incorporating those more – I just keep forgetting to cook up a batch. Oh and if you could send me the meal plan from your nutritionist I’d be super, super thankful. Thanks for popping by and sharing your thoughts.

  2. Also, I just saw in your other post that you don’t have access to a nutritionist. I would be happy to share the meal plan my nutritionist has given me if that would help you. Let me know. 🙂


Leave a Reply

