Where’s Waldo

I just seem to looove the dissapearing act – don’t I?

But this time it’s with good reason – I’m on vacation!

My friends abroad invited me over to their place for Christmas. Since I haven’t seen them in a little over 2 years I jumped at the chance. Till the last minute I wasn’t sure if it was gonna work out, which is why I didn’t brag about it. But on the 18th at 4:00 Pm I hoped on the bus and made the 14 hour trip to Czech Republic πŸ™‚

Of course, like any trip it wasn’t completely uneventful. I had to wait for 2 hours in the freezing cold (- 10) till 1 AM because the bus was delayed and the terminal was closed. You know, how they always tell you to “imagine” it’s warm and apparently it’s supposed to make it better – well it doesn’t. I was pretty sure if I had waited another hour I would have died from the cold. But thankfully the bus arrived and everything was ok.

I arrived just in time for my 20th birthday πŸ™‚ Honestly I didn’t do anything too spectacular – I was too tired. Me and a friend of mine just spent the day lazing around and catching up, and in the evening we watched a movie and drank a few too many glasses of wine. Good times.

And so now I’m sitting with my laptop in the living room in front of the fireplace, sipping hot cocoa and enjoying life. Β One of the most encouraging things about this trip so far has been all the compliments I’m getting on my looks – it’s awesome and makes me feel amazing. And my Christmas diet philosophy is working out well so far. I’ve already been out to eat twice, and pushed way out of my comfort zone. But I’m coping, managing, enjoying and not letting ED ruin this holiday for me.

So yeah, that’s a quick update from me. I’ll try to take some pics and post them later on, but we’ll see when that is. Right now I want to enjoy this time with my friends and the people I’m close too Β and I’ll blog when I feel like it, and won’t when I don’t. Fair enough :P?

And guess who is WAAAAY behind on her Christmas challange. It’s time to do some catching up.

Real or artificial tree – definitely real. And I’m definitely going to have one this year – because my friends live close to a forest and generally like chopping down their own. Theres just something magical about that pine smell πŸ™‚

Best gift I’ve ever given. I don’t really know (this is a hard one) but a gift that’s definitely very memorable for me was the Christmas I made a “cookbook” for my brother who loves to cook. I got a notebook and just wrote out all our favorite recipies by hand. It took forever, but he still has that little notebook to this day so it was worth it. Some times homemade gifts are the best, because they are the one’s you put the most love into.

Hardest person to buy for. My dad – no quiestions asked. He likes practical presents, but he always seems to have everything he needs. So every year I’m absolutely stumped at what to get him and never seem to find the “right thing”.

Post a picture of a old Christmas card. Sorry, don’t have one :(. We traveled around too much for me to ever hang onto one for any length of time. But here’s a picture courtesy of google.

When do you open gifts? Christmas Eve. It’s a European thing πŸ˜‰

Favorite stocking stuffer – I don’t even know what that is πŸ˜›

Favorite Christmas meal. We tend to eat something different every year, so it’s hard for me to pick one. But if I had to pick something traditional it would be dumplings with mushrooms (uszka) or gnocchi in a sweet poppy seed and butter sauce. Oooh, and my dad’s cheese cake.

 

Do you travel on the holidays? Well I sure am this year.

Alright cach ya’ll later. Enjoy the last few days before Christmas.

What’s your favorite holiday meal?

 

3 comments

  1. I’m glad you’re having a good vacation! The holidays are stressful food wise when we have eds, but I’m glad you’ve been able to put that aside as much as possible and enjoy yourself. You deserve it!

  2. Sounds like a wonderful vacation! I hope you had a fantastic Christmas and are doing well πŸ™‚

    My dad is definitely the hardest person for me to buy for too! And my favourite holiday meal would probably be roast ham with red cabbage πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

