Quick check in

Yes, I know – I haven’t bloged in ages – Baaaaad blogger 😛

But I had 2 massive exams to prepare for – one was a medical related subjects (different internal illnesses, their symtoms, cures etc.) and biochem. So sorry, I’m not sorry. The best thing was the night before the exam (that was on Wednesday) I came down with a horrible stomach bug. So beside being up practically all night, I had to go to school sick :(. I didn’t do as well as I wanted to, but I tried my best and I think I passed. After that I came home and practically face planted on my couch all afternoon.  Anyhow after a day of eating yogurt and banana’s (my go to sick food) today I feel much better.  My stomach is still a bit wonky – but I’m trying to stay on top of it.  Anyhow, I still have a biochem exam on Saturday to study for, so I can’t afford to be sick any longer 😛 . But enough about me, let’s get onto the fun stuff.

10. Favorite holiday scent.

It’s a tie between apples and cinnamon (hot mulled cider – yum!) and pine needles burning in the fireplace. I get warm and fuzzy just thinking about it.

11. Favorite holiday tradition.

That would be watching “Love actually” with my family/friends while drinking a festive drink (usually hot chocolate or mulled wine) . I also have a personal Christmas tradition – and that is sitting in a dark living room on Christmas Eve, after all the presents have been opened, dinner has been eaten and everyone has gone to bed, and musing on my life. It’s kind of my own personal reflection time I look back on the past year – where I’ve been, how far I’ve come and where I am. IT’s kind of a strange ritual, but I find it very therapeutic.

12. Wrapping paper or gift bags?

Wrapping paper all the way! I love wrapping paper and each year I end up wrapping my own, plus most everyone else’s :P.

13. Favorite Christmas book – Growng up it was always Charles Dicken’s Christmas carol hardcover book with all those old school drawings (kind of gothic) art that I still find kind of creepy. Actually the whole story freaked me out just a little as a kid (especially in the end when he looks over his toombstone – brrrrr). But now I just have fond memories whenever I see/read it.

Will be back after the weekend  craziness with some more substatial posts. Gotta just give it this last final push and I’m through.

Just for fun – what’s your staple sick food? 

Ever had to pass an exam when sick? It’s not the first time this has happened to me – but it usually tends to be a stomach flu thing – yeck 😦

2 comments

  1. well i just came down with a yucky cold… so this is timely! mine is vegetable soup or, weirdly, cooked green peas. Glad you’re feeling a bit better today!

  2. Awww, sorry to hear you were sick. especially during finals! But it sounds like you did the very best you could, and that’s all that matters. Hope you are feeling better now though!


Leave a Reply

