Thankful

I know thanksgiving was yesterday – but for some reason today I find myself sitting here, thinking about all the things I have to be thankful for. So here goes:

– For the past 2 days of no stomach pain. They say you can’t appreciate health, unless you’ve been sick. I’ve had such a rough 2 weeks or so, that right now I’m so thankful for being able to function normally pain free.

– For good food. Recently food and I have had a love/hate relationship. I loathed meal times because it seemed that no matter how hard I tried – I could never get it right. I either ate too much, or too little, or the wrong types of foods, or something. But I realized – hey I should be thankful I even have food to eat – some people don’t have that luxury.

My recent foodie loves 🙂

 

 

– For my body. I’m having a few body issues recently (gaining 5 kg does change your body a bit), but I’m thankful for the fact that I’m feeling better, that I can work and do the things I need to. And even if my body doesn’t look exactly the way I want it to, there are still a lot of good things about it 😉

– For work. Yes my schedule is hectic and I feel like I can’t manage everything at times. But I’m thankful in times like these I can work and do my part to save up towards my studies.

– For my studies. That I get to study something I’m interested in and passionate about. It’s not all downhill, but it’s great to be working towards a future in doing something you love.

One of my uni’s faculty buildings

– For the holiday season and all the joy it brings with it  – the lights, the music, the family atmosphere, my birthday ;P

– For all of you who are one of the best support systems I have. You guys are the best!

What are you thankful for?

What’s your favorite part of the Christmas season? For me it’s a tie between the Christmas music and the lights. I LOVE them both 🙂

6 comments

  1. Honestly, this morning, I am thankful for your post! Seriously. I needed this today as I woke up from a long night of binge eating and horrible body image issues.
    I am thankful for having the opportunity to truly recover from the eating disorder that has haunted me for the past (almost) 9 years. I am thankful for good foods, for my loving family, understanding friends (such as you!!) and having the chance at a new start at life.
    I am thankful for studying in university and making my way through this world, even though there are constant trials and tribulations.
    I am thankful to be sitting here writing, a better coping mechanism than berating myself for gaining weight.
    Hehe. I’m also thankful for Christmas teas!! And the holiday season and the anticipation of Christmas 🙂
    P.S. When is your birthday? ❤
    Long hugs.

    • 19th of December. It’s still a ways away, and it’s not really a big deal for me, but I’m turning the big two zero this year so I’m thinking of doing something maybe a little special 🙂
      Hang in there hun! I know that recovery is a roller coaster like no other, but we’ll make it through, I know it 😉
      Hugs!

  2. This is a really lovely post! I think it’s great to reflect on everything that we are thankful for and I really admire you for being able to find so many things to be grateful for despite your struggles 🙂 I’m so glad that you’re doing a little better and you had some stomach pain free days, I hope you’re starting to have more and more of those!


Leave a Reply

