Just roll with it.

You know what the best thing about being busy is?

Things have a way of prioratizing properly.

Being busy might mean you have less time to prep, cook and perpare healthy foods. It might mean you have to eat on the go 50% of the time, and that you spend a bit of time running around like a chicken without a head, cracky because you are so hungry you could eat somebody.

But the great thing about it is that you really don’t have time to obsess much about what you eat, when you eat, how much of each food group you eat – you’re just happy to EAT.

So without further ado – here’s some food I’ve been enjoying EATING recently.

Oat bran vs oatmeal – On busy morning the fact that oat bran takes 5 minutes as opposed to the 15 it takes to cook oatmeal is VERY appealing. And with the weather getting progressively colder waking up to a warm breakfast is generally more appealing than overnight oats – although it does happen.

With PB, almonds and raisins

Overnight oats with almons and blackcurrant preserves

PB and jelly oatbran

Everything but the kitchen sink oatbran – with raisins, almonds and pumpkin seeds

 

Lunches are quick and easy – usually it’s a grab and go sandwhich.

An egg sandwhich on a white roll

Hummus and veggies on wholewheat bread

 

 

Peanut butter and jelly on pumpernickle bread with a side of apple

Unfortunatly I haven’t had the opportunity to enjoy many dinners at home, and mainly when I do get the opportunity to eat at home – dinner looks something like this:

Leftovers – chickpeas, sauteed zucchini and hardboiled eggs – yum yum!

Snacks have generally been fruit or anything else I can grab on the go. I have had the opportunity to eat a few “study snacks” at home – which I have also thoroughly enjoyed

Peanut butter banana (I finnaly get why everyone is into this – it is GOOOD) and a glass of kefir.

Balacing a busy lifestyle and trying to eat healthy at the same time isn’t easy, but I think the upside of it is that you are forced to listen to your body more, without the opportunity to overthink things as much. Right now I’m in a stage where I have a raving sweet tooth and when complaning to my mom about it she said – just enjoy it. It’s a forigne concept for me to let go of all the rules and just roll with what your body wants- but being busy definitely speeds that process along.

Oh, and happy WIAW. Hope you all had a good day!

How does being busy affect your diet and lifestyle? Do you tend to pre-plan more during those times, or do you follow your cravings?  I usually try a mixture of both – although I’ll be the first to admit that things rarely go according to plan and I usually just have to “roll with the punches” so to speak.

 

5 comments

  1. Oh lovely,this post kind of cheered me up today… You know,nursing school starts on Monday for me and even though I’m excited,there also is involved a bit fear because I know I’ll be super busy then as well and yeah… I’m kind of scared it will screw up my eating habits even more. :/
    However,you’ve managed to make me think a bit more positively about the whole thing because it’s true… Being busy also means more distraction aka less time for stupid ED-thoughts and over-analyzing the food I’m putting into my mouth. I really hope this will help me to deal with the stress!
    Much love!

    • Oh I can totally relate to that stress to though – I take weekend classes when I leave the house at 5:30 AM and come back around 8:00 PM – so ALL my meals have to be packed. It’s a bit nerve wracking at first, but I’m slowly learning what I need and what my body needs during this time (and often what I need is not necessarily the “healthiest” option around, but I roll with it anyways).


Leave a Reply

