Detox time

Coffee in the morning watching the sunrise…

Sitting outside under a tree, with a view overlooking the garden…

Eating a slice of homemade pumpkin pie for breakfast…

….and enjoying just being alive

Sounds like a pretty good start to any vacation, no? After two days of travelling (with a sleep over along the way) I’ve arrived at my friends place. They live in a cute little farming village somewhere “behind God’s back” as they would put it. It’s in the middle of nowhere, but I didn’t honestly come out here with the intention of spending “nights on the town”. I came here to see them, but also to get away fro the hustle and bustle of day to day life and take some time to rest.

Here everything is so peaceful and quiet and natural. My friends have a HUGE vegetable garden with almost every vegetable you could wish for. They have fruit growing off their trees that is ripe and ready to be eaten. Everything they eat is 100% local and humanly farmed/raised.  It’s just all so very in touch with the way things should be.

One of the friends suffers from a medical condition that requires her to keep a super strict diet. Because of that she has a health foodies “dream” pantry  and equipment – including a vita-mix, dehydrator, food processor etc. , and all sorts of wonderful ingredients such as molasses, coconut oil, nutritional yeast, nuts and seeds galore. And to top it off she’s an amazing cook, so all the meals so far have not only been ultra nutritious (note: not ultra “low calorie”) and so amazingly tasty. It’s so nice to have someone else cook and be “in charge” in that sense and to be able to just enjoy whatever they make.

I helped with dinner prep last night (we hd the most amazing butternut squash curry), but I wasn’t in charge of what went into it, or what it was being served with. Heck, I didn’t even make my own plate – everything was planned, thought out and served for me – and it was so refreshing to just let go.  We sat out on the porch till it got dark – eating, laughing and drinking wine. It was the most enjoyable, relaxing meal I’ve had in a while.

I’ve decided to make this trip a detox of sorts. I’m going to stay away from the computer – aside from an occasional update here and there. I’m not going to focus on food groups, exchanges or getting enough calories. I’m just going to focus on eating and enjoying – both the food and the company. During this time I am going to reevalute my life, my recovery and where exactly I’ m going with all this. In the meantime I’m also going to enjoy the company and friendship of my two closest friends.

So hopefully the next post will have some pictures of the place, and tales of some of my other adventures. But as I said, I won’t be on as much because I’ll be too busy enjoying life. The blog world can get to be a bit too “perfectionist” at times as far exercise, food and all that other stuff and right now I just want to live life and enjoy it – you know?

Alright I’m off to enjoy the day, and eat another slice of pumpkin pie. Have a great day everyone.

 

7 comments

  1. Reading the title,I first thought “Oh my god,please don’t,Leelu…” – but now that I’ve read the whole post,I say “GO,GO,GO,LEELU!” 😀
    Enjoy your little detox and eat a slice of pumpkin pie for me. I’ve never had it before,but it must be delicious,hehe! 😉

    • This is the first time I’ve had it as well, I have a feeling this trip will be the first time for a lot of things and I’m totally looking forward to it!

  2. This was such a lovely post to read! You already sound like you’re in a bit of a better place and it sounds like you are going to have a really wonderful time being able to relax and let go of a lot of stress 🙂

    I hope you have an absolutely fantastic time, enjoy yourself – you really really deserve it! Hopefully it will help you find yourself a little more and you’ll come back feeling more positive and more able to face your recovery. Don’t feel pressure to blog, just have a fabulous holiday and we’ll all be here waiting for your return! 🙂

  3. I love your detox! It is kind of like something I did this past week at the Family Camp I went to. No electronics, fresh air, wonderful walks in nature — it was beautiful! And I didn’t focus on food — I ate healthfully, but I enjoyed a treat here and there. I had fun and didn’t let food bother me. It was amazing. 🙂 I know you can achieve this. You can do anything you set your mind to — I know you can! We’re here for you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

