WIAW summer staples vs year round classics

It’s wednesday again – boy this week if flying by.

Time to join the party hosted by Jen – thanks so much!

Although I rarely stick to the theme of the party – I figured I might as well try to roll with it this time:

Summer staples vs old classics:

A summer staple : cereal. I NEVER eat cereal in the winter as a meal. A snack, MAYBE, but never a meal. However now that the hot weather rolls around it’s been making a regular appearance at breakfast:

Multigrain cereal topped with banana, full fat yogurt and sunflower seeds. (Fun fact about me, I cannot eat cereal with milk for breakfast, because I feel like I’m eating air. I always need either yogurt or kefir to go with it)

 

An old classic made an appearance today at breakfast: oatmeal. Me and oats were on a break for a while (I actually burned out on them), but today they were back – better then ever (albeit chilled before serving)

 

Oats cooked in soya milk, topped with sour cherries, banana’s and almonds

A summer staple – sandwhiches and snack plates on days when I have to work and/or it’s just way too hot to even consider turning on the stove

A year round classic– ย there are days I crave cooked meals though, which is where pasta comes into play. I’ve never cooked much with pasta before, but there’s a first time for everything, and my experiments have been quite sucsesfull if I say so myself.

 

 

Leftover pasta scramble – spinach, egg, olive oil and feta. Easy, quick , tasty.

 

 

Italian veggie pasta with zucchini, kidney beans, chopped tomatoes and feta cheese

A summer staple: summer fruit (nectarines, cherries, etc.). I’ve always enjoyed fruit, but I never eat quite as much of it during the colder months as I do in summer. That’s one of the things I love most about summer, and the fact I live 5 minutes away from the farmers market – you get to stock up ๐Ÿ™‚

 

A fruit “soup” – quark, yogurt, nectarines and cherries topped with almonds

A year round classic: banana’s. I love banana’s and eat them year round.Today I discovered the wonders of banana with slathered PB. I’ve had the combo before of course, but never on it own. Boy, it was amazing, I kept going back for more nut butter though ๐Ÿ˜›

A summer staple: smoothies. I never really liked smoothies – because I never felt full after them. That was mainly because I tried to skimp on ingredients and make them as low-calorie as possible. No can do folks. ย Smoothies need to be power packed – preferably with a source of protein and fat for staying power. Although I still prefer food I can chew most of the time, smoothies have been a lifesaver on days my stomach feels like it’s about to expload or on days it’s so hot that the very thought of chewing makes you sweat.

 

This was one of the thickest, most filling smoothies I’ve had in a while. Zucchini apple/banana smoothie with flax and soy milk. Delicious

 

Fun fact: eating a smoothie with a spoonfull of peanut butter is funner then blending the PB into the smoothie – just saying ๐Ÿ˜‰

A year round classic: hot chocolate/chocolate milk. I drink soy milk ย most nights before bed, but today for some reason I was craving cocoa. So hot chocolate with soy milk it was. Random thing to drink during summer, but yummy.

Do summer staples take the place of old classics for you, or do you usually encorporate both?

4 comments

  1. Your eats all look amazingly delicious! I love bread, too, and cereal with yogurt is so much more satisfying/filling than with yogurt, agreed! I love how nutritious and well-balanced and delicious your eats look ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I incorporate both! Actually,I eat pretty much the same foods in winter & summer (except seasonal fruit/ veg),only prepared differently… Haha ๐Ÿ˜€
    Temperatures can’t change the fact I eat EVERYTHING cold,though. Even soup. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. What did you use in your zucchini smoothie? I’d love to use a zucchini in a smoothie! That sounds SO cool! ๐Ÿ˜€ I am so with you on enjoying cereal with yogurt rather than milk — it doesn’t really stick to me any other way. And I totally agree with you on bananas — they are ALWAYS good no matter what time of year (ESPECIALLY with nut butter). ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. I really like the way you’ve put this week’s WIAW together! Your food all looks delicious ๐Ÿ™‚ Smoothies, fresh fruit and cereal are all summery things for me too and I agree, pasta and hot chocolate are definitely all year round things!


Leave a Reply

