Live a little.

Life, is about balance

Eating healthy is great, wonderful and awesome. I love whole foods, the way they make you feel and the energy they give your body. I love eating things that taste good, but also the pack a punch with the nutrients they provide

Breakfast are usually the most balanced, healthy meal of the day for me. I’m one of these people that can’t imagine eating a chocolate bar for breakfast, or grabbing a diet coke or black coffee and calling it a morning – it’s just not me.

Generally I prefer something of the oaty variety:

Bored of oatmeal ? Try eating them raw. They have the most amazing “doughy” flavour and crunch which I absolutely love. And frozen cherries may be my new favorite treat 🙂

 

Still loving on the oat bran. This time I tried a slighly more savory spin and topped it with earthy, salty peanuts. Still creamy, wonderfull deliciousness (I did end up waiting about 30 min for them to cool before eating them though, it’s SO hot here right now)

 

Occasionally a savory switch up of bread and cottage cheese or quark

 

And if I’m feeling really special (like today for instance) I’ll step out of the box and try something new.

I honestly haven’t had pancakes in ages (I’m just too lazy to make them in the mornings). But today I woke up with a serious craving that woulnd’t go away. So oatmeal pancakes it was.

Been struggling to find an oatmeal pancake recipie that doesn’t just use egg whites (I’m going for maximum nutrition here) and I’ve seem to have found something that worked out great:

1/2 cup quick oats

1 whole egg

1/2 a tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/3 a banana

a splash of soya milk (to thin)

Mix dry ingredients. Mash up the banana, mix in with egg and add to dry mixture. Let everything sit for a few minutes (to let the oats soften) then add extra liquid if needed. Fry and serve with toppings of choice (it was full fat yogurt and blackberrie preserves for me this morning)

 

Lunches are a mixed bag, usually it’s something I can throw together in about 10 seconds flat and eat in less. Slight exaguration, but needless to say I  prefer something that is easy to make, easy to eat and easy to clean up after, because I’m usually on the go-go-go at that time of day. I would love to have more time to experiment and try new things, but I do the best with what I have.

My most typical lunch: boiled eggs, grain bread, veggies. Easy, breezy and although not necessarily beautiful – very tasty

Another eggy meal. Two large eggs scrambled with spinach and zucchini, half eaten bread on the side (hey, I was hungry, ok?)

 

Dinners come in all forms. If I’m at home, I’ll put the time and thought into a proper, balanced dinner. If I’m at work, I’ll usually pack something. Also by the end of the day is usually when my stomach is all whacked out, so I have to take that into the equation as well.

Gotta love the lunchbox dinner’s. Brown rice, kidney beans, and olive oil sauted zucchini – yummy yummy!

 

And for day’s my stomach is not doing so fine, we stick to staples: multigrain bread , boiled eggs, cooked zucchini and cottage cheese on the side.

 

 

And snacks: here’s where I allow myself to live a little. I love summer fruit, so snacks generally include a healthy serving of that. Smoothies, nuts and nut butters are all common staples.  And then there are the extra’s that aren’t always 100% healthy, but that are healthy for me right now.

Today’s extra’s included:

An ice-cream cone (vanilla for me please!)

Raffaello praline

I wasn’t going to eat this to begin with, but I had just a bite of the creamy coconut deliciousness and couldn’t say no. And I’m glad I didn’t!

 

And a night cap of soy chocolate milk and a Merci coffee chocolate

Guilty as charged!

Indulgent, sure! Do I eat like this every day – nope! Did I enjoy my treats – definitely.  But yesterday I didn’t eat any sweets, and I don’t think I’ll be having as many tomorrow.  I wouldn’t recommend this sort of thing for everyone on a day to day basis, heck I wouldn’t even eat like this all the time. However I think that when the opportunity presents itself sometimes you’ve just gotta live a little and do what you enjoy – and if it involves a bit of extra sugar, so be it.

In my book, the important thing is that you don’t substitute regular meals with indulgences. I’ve tried doing that in the past, restricting so I could eat a piece of cake for “dinner” or eating a candy bar in place of a meal.  Not only did I feel sick and gross afterwards, but I didn’t end up feeling satisfied after eating that , I still craved real food.  For me balance means allowing these treats in my life in moderation, but not letting them substitute the real food I should be eating.

In my opinion  there is no such thing as junk food. There are simply more or less nutritious foods – and some foods are good for the body, others are good for the soul. Foods such as oats, dark bread, whole grain, beans, legume’s and veggies are good for the body, and foods such as ice-cream, chocolate and raffellos are good for the soul. And when you find a balance in eating for the soul as well as the body – then you feel satisfied , happy and healthy.  In the end, it’s not about having the perfectly balanced diet, but about enjoying yourself along the way.

For me personally, I’m learning that trying to have the 100% perfectly balanced diet doesn’t work – I become obsessive – constantly thinking about food, planning new recipies and trying to get everything “right”. My stomach problems add an extra element of stress to the mix, and sometimes it’s a struggle to get anything down – much less worry about the nutritional content. So I’ve decided I’m just going to live a little and enjoy life and food – stress free. I suggest you do it too, because life is so much more fun that way.

And as you can see, I have some really delicious desserts to look forward to in the days to come 🙂

Oh, and before I forget – happy WIAW !!!

What are foods that you consider “good for the soul”?

Do you think little treats should be a regular part of a balanced diet?

Favorite kind of chocolate?

8 comments

  1. If you find a good pancake recipe that you like that’s in a larger batch, just make the whole batch and freeze the leftovers! Pancakes freeze so well and then you don’t have to keep making them because they’re ready to go right into your toaster. 😀

    And my favorite kind of “chocolate” is white chocolate. :3

  2. I’m all for little treats… I believe that food serves more than one purpose and one of them is to bring a little joy and while there are some “treats,” that I now realize just make me feel horrible, there are plenty that don’t 🙂

  3. YES,I definitely think treats should be part of a balanced diet! I can tell you,if I don’t allow myself to have my treat,I’m most probably gonna have a binge attack somewhen. And seriously,I’d much rather eat a moderate serving of ice cream/ chocolate or whatever than a whole chocolate bar or an entire pint of ice cream.
    Merci coffee chocolate and Raffaelo are seriously amazing,by the way,but my favorite kind of chocolate will always be white,or caramel-filled chocolate. Or white chocolate with a caramel filling,haha! 😀

  4. That’s not too many sweets for one day, you just feel like it is because you’re coming out of a tough spot with the disorder (and a bunch of HLBs just post their super ‘clean’ eats, making it look like treats are a non-daily thing – I think they should be daily)! I eat that many treats every day 🙂 Your food looks fantastic, I had pancakes for the first time in a while yesterday, too! And the bread and quark and everything…are you in Europe somewhere, to have such yummy food??? I’m partial to chocolate with nuts and seads and/or caramel and milky-fillings. Yum 🙂

    • Hey, thanks for the comment. It’s nice to have a “reality check” once in a while with the unhealthy vs healthy eats. It seems like on blog world everyone eats clean 100% of the time, and then the media is constantly telling the rest of us to “eat cleaner”. That and some leftover ED BS doesn’t make for very clear thinking. So thanks for thoughts, it’s goo to hear
      And yes, I am currently living in Europe. We may not have as good PB as they do in the States, but we do love our quark 😉

  5. Little treats of all sort are just an important part of LIFE, food aside 🙂 Your eats look great–and oh my gosh, I’m in love with frozen cherries right now too. They are the perfect outdoor snack on a hot day.

  6. My favorite type of chocolate is dark chocolate. I used to only eat milk chocolate (before I discovered my milk allergies). But my dad introduced me to the “dark side,” and I’ve never gone back. 😉


Leave a Reply

