Summer so far.

Hi everyone.

 

Sorry for dropping off the face of blog world yet again, it really wasn’t planned. Actually almost every night I sit down, wanting to write a post – I even started typing up a few only to find that my eyes are closing and I can’t write anything remotely  legible. And since I’m a firm believer in “if you don’t have anything intelligent to say, don’t say anything at all”, I prefer not to post in a while then to write something just for the sake of writing.

So, what have I been up to recently – well I’ve been helping out my parents a lot with their business – there’s really a lot going on in the summer months – so it’s practically all hands on deck right now. Other than that I’ve been taking care of the house (think cleaning out my room properly for the first time in far too long), spending time with my siblings and trying to re-figure out my life somewhat.

One thing I’ve really been trying to focus on since I don’t have the stress of daily studies is my weight gain. I’m trying to follow a meal plan – but this is MUCH easier said than done. Mainly because my stomach issues are flaring up again, and I’m at my wits end trying to figure out what is causing them and why. Secondly I’ve almost developed a fear of food, because of the extreme pain and discomfort I’m in afterwards. It seems the medication I was prescribed is making things worse, and my doctor is so busy she hardly has time to schedule another check up. At the same time, I feel so discouraged because for all my suffering and pain that weight isn’t going up L.

But on a more positive note, I’ve decided to make this next month about taking care of myself and doing things that I enjoy. The ability to enjoy life seems to be an ability that I have lost, and I think it’s time to regain that. I’ve been making little steps daily – such as enjoying walks in the sunshine, shopping for veggies at the farmers market, eating lots of ice-cream, baking and just trying to focus on the little things that make my life special and wonderful. It’s hard for me, not only because I’m a chronic work-a-holic, because I’m definitely stressing about making enough money for tuition next month (my parents can’t cover it) and I don’t have a steady job as of yet, but  I guess I just need to do what I can to take care of myself, and hope that everything will somehow work out for the best.

I will be back to posting soon – because blogging and being part of the blog community is definitely something that makes my life just a little bit happier 🙂 In the meantime, sorry for the pictureless post (my dad borrowed my camera and still hasn’t returned it) and see you later.

5 comments

  1. Oh,I can relate to much to that “fear of food” you’re mentioning in your post! I have it,too,because I feel so awful,sick and bloated after each and every bite I force myself to swallow. 😦 It’s frustrating.
    Anyhow,don’t give up,and the uncomfortable feelings won’t last forever – at least,that’s what I’ve heard.

  2. Yay for ice cream! Part of the pain could just be a normal part of refeeding (and that passes, trust me, so stick with it!) but if it’s reallllly extreme, there could be another issue. If your doctor doesn’t have time for you, get another doctor! And think about what you’re eating – if you’re eating too many ‘healthy’ foods, that could be the problem. Vegetables and whole grains have a lot of fiber and too much fiber can cause discomfort. Foods that are pretty easy on the stomach include white rice, bananas, yogurt, ice cream (for me, at least), potatoes, spaghetti, granola WITH milk (because it has a quite a bit of fiber and the milk helps), white breads (but that doesn’t mean you can’t have tasty whole grain breads – just alternate with white or go for half-whole grain breads. I hope you feel better! As for the working thing – girl, I’m in the same boat and sometimes it feels like we’re the only two college kids who have to pay rent/tuition/food/books/travel/EVERYTHING by ourselves. My parents aren’t in a situation to support me financially, so I’ve been financially independent throughout school. And yes, that means loans sometimes (they seem scary, but sometimes it’s just the best option – you’ll be okay, try to get them through your school). As long as we have our health, we can do anything!

    • Thank you so much for commenting! It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who has to deal with the stress of finances, school and recovery/health at the same time. Really somehow hearing that others also deal with the same things encourages me that I can too 🙂

  3. I am so glad that you’re doing alright. 🙂 I’m sorry that your stomach problems are flaring up again though. I hope your doctor can find the time sometime soon for you. Stomach aches and pains are never fun. 😦 Best of luck to you!


Leave a Reply

