WIAW – strawberries and smoothies

I love the summer season, ย the heat, the abundance of fresh produce, the smell of freshly cut grass and the sunshine. I love sleeping with the window open and waking up with the fresh morning breeze. And I love summer, because summer = smoothie season.

I’ve never been100% sold on smoothies – because they never seem to fill me up properly. But recently, it’s all about getting as much quanity in as I can – so smoothies work for me ๐Ÿ˜‰ Problem with me and smoothies are, I don’t have much experience in making them. So some of my concotion turn out awesom, and others – not so much.

Example of a smoothie fail – soy milk, kefir, banana and frozen spinach.

(For some reason this ended up tasting like mayonaise – don’t ask. Although it was NASTY it kept me full for 3-4 hours, so I guess there’s some logic behind the madness)

When I follow recipies – things go a bit better

Mama Pea’s apple pie smoothie is AMAZING. I had this for lunch or snack at least 3 times in the last week. Also, topping smoothies with rice-crackers and sunflower seeds is not the worst idea ๐Ÿ˜‰

Soy milk, strawberrie and banana smoothies are a GREAT combo though

Small study smoothies (awesome hands-off snack)

Another things I love about summer are the strawberries : seriously I haven’t been able to get enough these days. And buying them from the farmers market just makes them taste 100% better

Take today’s breakfast for instance:

Strawberries and full fat yogurt (fat free isn’t HALF as good)

Strawberry soft serve

But since we can’t live off strawberries and smoothies alone (although I totally would) – here’s some other food I’ve been enjoying recently – especially now that I have time to actually cook.

Protein past bowl – brocolli, pasta, peanuts, red beans, boiled egg

Whole wheat roll with cottage cheese and tomato

Wย Split pea spread (perfected recipie soon), crisp flatbread, tuna dip and veggies

Turkey spaghetti with pasta

And of course – this

What are 2 foods you could live on?

Favorite summer fruit?

7 comments

  1. Oh my gosh. I LOVE STRAWBERRIES!!!!! I am like a strawberry monstah when it comes to them (just like cookie monster with his cookies.) ๐Ÿ˜‰ Your food looks SO good! I think I could definitely live on strawberries and dark chocolate. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Look at your eats! SO DELICIOUS! And so healthy looking too! I mean, really! You seem like you’ve already struck such a good healthy balance. I’m IMPRESSED.

    Oh, and I can’t live without some sort of fruit throughout the day and probably peanut butter ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

