Lunch time epiphanies

I had a funny epiphany when making lunch the other day.

I have this funny thing about walking into the kitchen when making a meal and feeling utterly and totally lost – there’s just too many options. But today I knew one thing for sure, I had a hot, fresh roll that needed to be used. So I went with my classic cottage cheese and tomato – and to try something new I had a the jam and egg combo (I’ve seen some people do it, so I wanted to see what it was all about).

I actually ended up switching everything around after taking the picture. The jam and egg combo was ok, but not great. So was the savory cottage cheese combo. I realized a few bites into the meal that what I really wanted was the other way around – cottage cheese with blackberry jam and scrambled egg with tomatoes. I finished my meal feeling full, but not really satisfied,; almost cheated in a way – because I had all the components needed to make something I really enjoyed, yet I missed the mark somewhere along the way.

It made me think about my life right now, because that mirrors my feelings about it to a tee. I truly enjoy studying, learning; but I also enjoy working and taking active part in other things. And I seem to be struggling to find a balance, to find what I really want to do. Somewhere along the way I lost the ability to enjoy the little things that life brings, I hardly know what fun means anymore. I’m going through life surviving, without really living. And it’s not making me happy, and it’s not the way life should be

Exam period is up ahead, but after that I really need to take stock of where I need to change. My life, like my lunch, has all the components needed for me to feel happy and fulfilled. I just need to find a way to put them together and make them work for me.

Have you had any epiphanies recently?

6 comments

  1. I loved this. Literally read it twice I loved it so much. Me too is all I can say. I have a lot I need to figure out once exams are over!

    Good luck for the exams!

  2. I really like the analogy in this post, I agree with you that the problems with my life actually do echo my food issues. I’m sorry that you are still struggling to find a balance but I have faith that after your exams you will be able to take stock and figure out what you want from life. I too have a lot to figure out this summer, it’s a difficult time for lots of us so I can sympathise. You’ve inspired to me to reevaluate a few things too! Good luck with all of your exams lovely!


Leave a Reply

