Doctors appointment update and where I’m at now.

I remember mentioning a while back something about a getting some tests done, so I can determine the source of my stomach pain. Well I FINNALY got around to it this Friday. It’s not something I’ve been purposely putting off, but it took a while to be arranged and scheduled, but I’m glad it worked out. Of course it wasn’t the most pleasent of experiences, I had to do a very invasive test (gastroscopy) which I was terrified of to be honest, but it had to be done.

All the results aren’t in yet, it’s already confirmed I have Reflux oesophagitis – which is basically a very advanced case of acid reflux (a little more complicated, but I’ll spare you the details). Still waiting on the blood work to come in, but I’m happy to discover at least one source of my pain and discomfort.

However, more alarmining then my medical situation , which is fairly mild and easily treated, is the state it’s brought my body to. Pain after every meal = me eating very little. And since this has been going on for quite some time right now it’s resulted in a drastic weight loss.  I didn’t realize just how drastic till I got weighed on Friday. I’m not going to share the number, but let’s just say it’s not pretty.  My doctor looked at me and just hugged me and asked how I could have let myself get to this state. To be honest… I don’t know.

I guess I wanted everything to just go away on it’s own. I wanted to be normal, happy, healthy and “coping” like everyone else. I kept ignorning the problem, hoping it would go away. Unfortunatly it didn’t, which brings me to where I am now.

The dotor actually suggested hospitalization and tube feefings as an option of getting my weight up quickly, which I declined. I’ve been down that road before, I know where it leads and I don’t feel it’s the right one for me. I’ve done far too many hours interning in hospitals not to be aware of how they treat people there – like namless figures and statistics on a page. Yet I know this jouney back to health will be a hard one. My stomach pain is now worse then it’s ever been (I spent all last night nauseas because of 1/2 a cup of yogurt), and because of it I’ve developed some less then healthy eating patterns. My stomach has definitely shrunken, because I now feel full after really small amounts of food. All these factors definitely don’t work in my favour. But I’m in this to win.

We haven’t discussed my medical situation as a family yet, but I know that discussion will be a difficult and tense one. My parents love and care for me a great deal, and everyone has a different idea of how to “help”. I know they want the best for me, and I don’t blame them for being concerned, but at the same time we all need to learn to respect each other and our different opinions on the matter.

In short, I have a lot of work cut out for me. But better late then never. I’m scared, but I know that in the end health and happiness will be worth all of this temporary pain and discomfort.

\

8 comments

  1. I am very sorry to hear about all your struggles and pain. You seriously don’t deserve this and I hope that know that you finally reached out for help,everything will get better for you.
    I can absolutely understand you’ve been wanting to cope with it on your own,I’m exactly the same,but sometimes,it’s just so important to be honest with yourself and admit that you won’t be able to do it all alone. That’s not a sign of weakness but a sign of true strength.
    I’m praying for you,girl. ❤

  2. Oh love, I’m so sorry to hear how much pain you have been in. I can imagine it’s good to finally have a diagnosis of sorts though? At least you know it’s not all in your head and can be begun to be dealt with. One of my friends recently got diagnosed with acid reflux and she said it was practically impossible to eat because of the pain afterwards, so I imagine yours is even worse. However, if this helps, the minute she got put on anti-acid medication she was miles better and is back to normal, painless eatin.They can treat with medication and then hopefully once that kicks in, you can work on getting your health back. Sending lots of positivity and hugs! I hope the bloods come back all fine too!

  3. I’m so so sorry to hear how much pain you’re in lovely, it sounds really horrible. I really hope that the doctor is able to find a way of helping you recover quickly and that things get better really soon! I understand how you feel about dealing with your family on this, when you’re ill it is always difficult to know how people will react but at least you know they have your best interests at heart! You are in my thoughts and prayers, stay strong sweetie! ❤

  4. I’m dealing with a ton of digestive and gut issues now too…but underweight and not brave enough AT ALL for invasive tests 😦 Yipes. Email me if you can …I’d love to chat ,,


Leave a Reply

