Back to school

How’s everyone enjoying their weekend so far?

My emotions right now are mixed. Today was a great day overall – I slept in late, had a lazy breakfast, went out window shopping, got a haircut, lazed around – did everything a normal a person should do in a proper weekend. But there’s an underlying feeling of dread, because after this weekend it’s back to school for me. And as much as I DO enjoy studying, it’s hard to get back into it after you’ve taken a long break. Also I don’t really have any good friends back at uni, so I feel pretty lonely a lot of the time. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m not really that outgoing of a person, of if developing deeper friendships takes time and I need to just be patient, but there’s no one I really feel like I click with. This might sound a little snobby, but I feel a whole lot more mature then a lot of my classmates. I think it’s because of all the responsibility I’ve had since a very young age, or the experiences I’ve gone though. I don’t have a problem making acquaintances, but all my good friends live far away and I miss them.

 Today’s breakfast – an oat bran sucsess. Banana oatbran topped with honey-PB. The perfect way to kick off a weekend!

However I am exited about getting a better balance between studying and the other aspects of my life. They say that the first semester is the hardest, and everything is downhill from here. We seem to have less subjects in this semester and not all my classes start at 8:00 – yay! So I’m going to try to devote more time to my social life, “me time” and exercise. During spring break I was able to devote more time to exercise and I forgot how GREAT it makes me feel. So I think I’m going to shoot for 3-4 times a week – nothing too extreme, but enough to keep me healthy and happy.

I’m also going to put more time into “self love”. I know this might sound weird to some of you, but during the first semester I was so obsessed with studying I didn’t do anything to paper myself. I NEVER painted my nails, makeup and hairstyling was just the bare minimum because I didn’t want to waste time. I’m not one of those girls that spends hours primping anyway, but I do enjoy taking a long leisurely shower, putting on some nice smelling lotion, taking a bit of time to put thought into my wardrobe and lifestyle. I’ve notice that little thing like this do loads for my self esteem and confidence, and I know it’s an important step in me learning to love myself again.

The ultimate "home spa" treatment - a 30 minute hot shower

Spring break was really a nice chance to catch my breath and think a lot of thing through, make some exiting future plans, to relax a bit, visit friends, and do things I enjoy.

Family monopoly night with my siblings. One of the things I’m really gonna miss.

I was also able to work a bit, and take part in some internships at a restaurant. It was a really nice experience, because the manager of the restaurant was an incredibly understanding and nice woman, and I really feel like I learned a lot. Also, I was able to manage the situation eating wise. I never really had time to sit down and eat, so I had to rely on snacking on whatever was available. Some days it was a bowl of veggies (lightly sautéed in butter) others a French fries (hello major fear food). But I managed, I ate it, it didn’t kill me and honestly it didn’t even bother me all that much. I’m really happy I’m faced with these new experiences, because they force me to push myself in my recovery, and it’s cool to see how far I’ve come.

Hey there potatoe chips! You no longer terrify me 😛

So this evenings plans are a movie, a glass sparkling wine and cake, a bit of evening blog reading and a pancake Sunday breakfast. And then it’s back to school for me…

Do you find it very easy to make friends? Or are you like me who really needs to get to know someone before you consider them a friend?

8 comments

  1. Don’t feel “snobby” because you feel you’re more mature than those around you at college! I feel the same way because a lot of kids just want to “party” and drink all of the time and I’d much rather just get together, hang out, socialize, play games, and so on, but without alcohol involved.

    It takes a while for me to make friends and I don’t have a lot of them who have the exact same interests as me like I kind of did back in high school, but once I do make friends I’m positive they’re usually the ones I want to keep.

  2. Mmm potato chips!

    I find it hard to make friends. I’m very much an introvert and I tend to wait for people to start talking to me. I am so afraid of starting a conversation with a new person!

    Good luck with your studies this semester!
    xxx

  3. Yay! I am glad that you had a chance to relax and I absolutely love your self-love. Inspiring, my dear. I definitely have trouble making friends easily and/or opening up to people, but once I do trust the person, they are my friend for life. ❤

  4. It’s great to hear that you’ve conquered so many fear foods and I love how positive your post sounds. 🙂
    Making new friends is wonderful,but it depends on the respective person how much and how quickly I can trust them… Sometimes,it needs a long time,sometimes it’s a rather fast process.

  5. Oh, I hate the back to school feeling. It’s so hard to motivate yourself when you know another hard slog is ahead! Definitely sympathise with you. It’ll be fine though! 🙂
    I’m not great at making friends and am similar in that it takes me a long time to consider someone a true friend. I’m just not very good at being demonstrative/chatty/open and come across as very standoffish, so I don’t really have many close friends. I think people find it hard to connect with me because I’m a bit of a loner and appear to not care. Equally, because I’m not an extrovert or someone who is good at chattering to people I don’t really know, I find it hard to connect. Plus, people often find me really serious, which I think probably am. I think we are just old before our time! 🙂

    Hope your week back goes well and I LOVE you self-love plan! xx

  6. I used to be great at making friends but now I keep more or less to myself. I have people I talk to at school in class and at lunch but when I get home I don’t usually leave. I hope you have a good week! Love the self-love!

  7. I am so glad that you have had a fantastic break and that you feel ready to face the new term with the mindset to spend more time on yourself :-). You really do deserve some ‘me time’!

    I found it really difficult to go back to uni after 6 weeks off at home for Christmas so I completely understand that emotion. I also completely share your feelings towards making friends! I’ve always felt that my situation with illness and physical restriction has made me grow up quickly and that I’m a lot more mature than the other people in my year. It’s difficult because it can be hard to find common ground on which to build friendships. All I can tell you is that over time you do manage to find people with whom you have more in common and friendships will develop! But I understand how difficult it can be – you’re not alone!

    Lastly, I am so so proud of how far you have come!! To be able to relinquish some of your major fear foods is just brilliant, you should feel so proud of yourself 🙂

  8. Your spring break sounds like it went well. Great job on the french fries 🙂 I have a few really good friends but also have trouble making friends at my university. Its difficult to develop bonds with people for me and to extend myself when I feel socially awkward. I hope you can reach out more this semester! And no matter what, keep up that self love! Its the most important thing we can do for ourselves.


Leave a Reply

