The good things in life (plus a recipie)

Today was filled with all the good things in life –  a work out, minimal study, cooking, baking, and a evening movie with a celebratory drink.

I feel awesome!

So awesome I’m actually gonna post a recipie for the first time in forever.

My little brothers begged me into baking cookies this afternoon. But with no ingredients in the house – this turned out to be quite a challange. So opposed to following a recipie I decided to throw a bunch of ingredients together and hope for the best. And I was pretty happy with the outcome!

(PS: These look and taste like “health cookies”. I personally enjoy my cookies “real food” tasting, but they’re not exactly dessert cookies per say. I like to think of them as “brain fuel” 😉 But for being vegan, sugar free and taking exactly 5 minutes to put together – they’re not half bad .)

Oatmeal raisin chewies

– 1 cup oats

– 1 cup flour

– 1/2 – 2./3 cup water

– 1/2 cup raisins

–  1 tsp cinnemon

– 1 tsp baking powder

– peanuts, walnuts  (or whatever other nut you prefer – I used peanuts because that was all we had in the house)

Mix together dry ingredietns. Pour hot water over the raisins and let them plump up. Once the water has cooled to a lukewarm temperature, blend the raisins and water together. Add to the dry ingredients. Add chopped nuts. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 180 C for 15 minutes.

I ate these for snack with a bit of yogurt, and they kept me full for a good 3 hours. Lots of real food in there.

Alright, I’m off to bed. Have a great weekend everyone!

(And check out  This fit chicks awesome give – away while you’re at it ;))

Do you prefer you desserts “healthy side”? Or are you more of the “indulgent type”? I have a very conservative sweet tooth, so I prefer to make my own desserts in favour of anything store bought.

7 comments

  1. That is good that you had a good day! I like good days. Minimal study days are the best. I had a good day, too. And that sounds tasty. Sometimes I like healthy desserts and sometimes I like sugar loaded ones but it all depends on the day. RIght now I want a bowl of fruit, but I just want that in general.

  2. Considering you had no other ingredients, they don’t look half bad! GOod job 😉

    Sometimes I like a really good buttery cookies and then sometimes I want something healthy. You don’t always have to have high fat and sugar cookies just to please others. Eating relatively healthier cookies helps lower the risk of a sugar spike! However, I would prefer these with a little bit more sugar 😛

    xxx

  3. Once a year my mom makes Mexican wedding cookies (Russian teacakes, etc.), which are basically flour + butter + sugar and I eat one or two and I’m completely satisfied. Aside from the occasional treat like that, I prefer my desserts to be more “healthy” and I consider frozen fruit to be a perfect dessert when topped with some yogurt and granola.

    Way to be crafty with what you had on hand too; the cookies look great!

  4. Healthy can taste good (oatmeal with fruits, nut butter or dark chocolate)

    But when I want a dessert, I want a big fat sweet dessert, absolutely not healthy ^^ . I used to choose the “healthiest” or lower calories dessert when eating out, but once my sister (who is in good shape) told me “if you have a dessert, take a really indulgent dessert, even if you just eat half”
    And she was right, it worked for me =) I don’t have dessert often (1 or 2 a week) but when I have one … :p

  5. I like the sound of your day! 🙂

    I like both types of dessert – depends. I love oatmeal-chewy-type things! These look amazing! 🙂 x


Leave a Reply

