Happy New Year!

Happy New Year everyone! I just know it’s gonna be a great one.

But before we move onto that, let’s talk about 2011.

I’m not going to lie and say 2011 was an easy year for me. It had its ups and downs, but all in all I have the feeling it was a good year.

This year I really started challenging my ED mentalities and letting go of them.  It wasn’t easy, and I’m not still out of “the woods” all together, but I can honestly say that there are things I do on a day to day  basis that I never thought I’d ever be able to do again – such as eating night snacks, eating white bread and butter, going for long periods of time without exercise . There were times I couldn’t imagine not eating at a certain time, or a certain type of food, or eating in front of other people.  Looking back at the begining of this year I hardly recognize myself as the same person, and that’s a really good thing in my opinion.

Other than that I got to travel, work and see old friends at the same time.  It was a great learning experience for me, it helped me to challenge some old habits and ruts, and  I had a lot of fun.

Then after I came back home I helped my parents start their new business, which meant a lot of hard manual labor, the sense of accomplishment I got when it was finnaly finished was great.

Then I started studies, and had although it took me a while to get used to things, I think I’m slowly getting the hand of it. The new year is going to start off crazy (loads more tests and exams), but I have high hopes.

And what else can I say… I’m just really exited about all there is to come. I’m not sure how it’s all going to turn out, but I’m determined to just do my best and roll with the punches, no matter where they come from.

So let’s move onto my New Years resolutions:

–          Get through this year of studies and not give up no matter not. It’s really hard, and some people have dropped out already, but I don’t want to be one of them. I know it won’t be easy, but I believe I can do it.

–          Find more balance between studying/social life/ “me” time. I tend to focus on only one area of my life at a time and give it all my attention, but in order to keep up a balanced lifestyle you need to focus on ALL aspects.

–          Get back into running. I love running, it makes me feel great and makes me happy, but I’ve totally stopped it recently. Need to get back into it.

–          Not being so thrifty I neglect my health and well being. I want to be able to enjoy life and be healthy and happy without feeling guilty about it. I need to conquer this mentality of saving to my own hurt.

And I think that’s it for now, I’m sure I’ll think of more, but I’ve got a pretty good start so far. Hope you all have an awesome New Year’s party and an even better New Year.

7 comments

  1. Yay for a great year with growth and empowerment! You are such an inspiration girl, I cannot wait to see your adventures in life for 2012 🙂

  2. Happy New Year to you as well! I’m planning to work on not being so frugal that it hurts me too, so don’t feel like you’re alone with that goal. 😉

  3. Happy New Year my girl. I love those goals and am proud of you for your accomplishments! You have grown so much this year through doing things that you would never have challenged yourself to do before. And you will continue to grow throughout the next year as well. Your strength will carry you through.
    It is interesting how, when we look back on the year, we have changed and grown that we can hardly recognize ourselves. I agree with you on that one!
    Good luck with the upcoming studies. Remember to have patience with yourself and not beat yourself up over the stress of school and exams, Challenges are good! 🙂 You will make it through. I can assure you that you, of all people, will not give up. You have not given up on yourself or your recovery and school is a little easier than battling an eating disorder, I think 😛
    I like your last resolution of treating yourself. You most definitely deserve to be kind to yourself. ❤
    Happy (early) New Years. Lots of love and hugs. xoxo

  4. Happy to hear you had a transforming year! I hope you continue to grow in ways you never though possible 🙂 Those are great resolutions, some of which i definitively need to work on myself as well. Happy New Year ❤


Leave a Reply

