Crazy cravings.

Our bodies are wonderful things. They are built to withstand extreme circumstances, they function without us fully understanding how. Here are some fascinating facts:

1. There are more than 600 individual skeletal muscles in the human body.

2. Human bone is as strong as granite in supporting weight. A block of bone the size of a matchbox can support 9 tones – that is four times as much as concrete can support.

3.The focusing muscles of the eyes move around 100,000 times a day. To give your leg muscles the same workout, you would need to walk 80km (50 miles) every day.

4.The human brain cell can hold 5 times as much information as the Encyclopedia Britannica. Or any other encyclopedia for that matter. Scientists have yet to settle on a definitive amount, but the storage capacity of the brain in electronic terms is thought to be between 3 or even 1,000 terabytes.

5. Your nose can remember 50,000 different scents

The list could go on and on, but I think you get the point now. Our bodies are unique and wonderful creations, but ones that are baffling and puzzling to us at the same time. There is no way we will ever be able to fully comphrehend the way the body functions, and although that is awesome and wonderful, it’s also somewhat frightening at the same time. Often the unknown scares us, and somtimes our bodies signals are one of those things.

Today there is so much talk about healthy living and having a “healthy lifestyle”. There are different projections of what “healthy” is, but generally each person has a personal ideal of what that should be. The funny thing is however, that sometimes our bodies signals will actually contradict what our mind is telling us is “healthy”.  Let’s say instead of working out, we’ll feel like taking a nap, instead of eating an apple we’ll feel like having a peice of chocolate.

The quiestion is, what do we do? Do we listen to what our mind tells us is “right” or do we follow our bodies signals? I’m not sure there’s a 100% right answer to this quiestion, but personally I find it best to follow my bodies signals, even if they go against what I feel I should be doing.

Recently I’ve been having a lot of strong food cravings (no I’m not pregnant 😛 ). Sometimes they make sense – like hot creamy oat bran on a blustery morning.

Other’s go against the normal way I do things, but it’s a welcome change –  veggies and chickpeas for snack – don’t mind if I do.

Some are understandable and explainable – major protein craving lunch – curried lentils, harboilled egg, crackers and carrot sticks.

And then others go against what I would normally consider to be healthy. For exaple recently I’ve been having MAJOR chocolate/sweet cravings. And no, these are not the kind of cravings that come and go, but they are major “I need a sweet tooth fix NOW” sort of thing. At first it scared me, but then I realized I just needed to let go. That doesn’t mean I’m now stuffing my face with chocolates and candy. It means I’m lovin’ on fruits and almond butter and banana’s. It also means that I’m eating 2 squares of chocolate for dessert most days, and some times it’s a bit more. Do I feel this is wrong – not particularly. Of course my old mindsets tell me this is horrible, evil and I’m going to turn into a fat blimp if I don’t keep my cravings in check. But a stronger part of me tells me to ENJOY LIFE and listen to my body. I’m doing A LOT of studying recently – I have 3 major exams coming up next week. And the brain functions mostly off what – sugar. So if a little brain fuel is what my body needs, that’s what I’m going to give it.

And if it involves a little more of this than usual, well I’m gonna roll with it.

I’m not implicating here to let go of all your healthy living ideals and just eat candy or fast food all day because “you’re craving it”. But I think after you’ve developed healthy habits, it’s not like your body is going to freak out on you the second you give it a bit of freedom. I’m pretty sure once you have a good foundation in place, you can trust that your body will ask for what it needs, and sometimes you’ve just got to let loose a little and step out of your comfort zone. Because in the end, life is more then just the perfect diet and lifestyle. It’s about enjoyment, health and happiness. So let’s let loose and live a little – shall we?

Any thoughts on the matter?

What’s the weirdest craving you’ve had recently? I have to say, mine was last night when I was snacking on chickpeas like nuts at about 10 PM. I’m usually more of a sweet/light night snack person. I guess I needed the protein 🙂

7 comments

  1. Ooh those facts are really cool! I agree, we really should appreciate all our bodies can do for us and nourish them properly 🙂
    I’ve been having crazy pregnant cravings lately too!! Especially with mustard on stuff, it’s weird haha

  2. I had a massive craving for Spaghetti-O’s yesterday… not really sure why. 😛 That’s one of those cravings I’m not exactly going to give into, but if it resurfaces I’ll make some pasta and sauce or something. I’ve been listening to what I want to eat lately (read: I’m downing squash like it’s about to go extinct) and it’s quite relaxing.

    Good luck with your exams! I have 3 this week as well, but I’m sure we’ll both manage quite well with them. 😉

  3. I get cravings like I’m pregnant all the time. I think listening to your body is living a healthy lifestyle. It makes sense. And I think Peanut Butter and Jenny put up a post a little while ago about how we tend to crave more sweets and comfort foods in the winter because it is colder and our bodies are working harder to stay warm and thus burning more calories. I’ve been craving sweets like crazy lately, too. Hot cocoa is the best. Just sayin.
    Also, I gave you an award on my blog yesterday and I don’t care whether you repost it or not, I just wanted to let you know that I love your bog.

  4. I get cravings too. Almost always they’re of the sweet variety and hormone related! 🙂 However, I’ve been massively craving kale lately so must be needing the vitamin A and K or something! I agree with the going with it. Your body feels much more satisfied and happy I find when you give it whatever it’s asking for! I don’t like avoiding foods just because “I shouldn’t be eating that right now or had loads of that already today” as it just reminds me of ED days and we don’t want to go anywhere near that!


Leave a Reply

