A look forward and behind.

Well the month has come to an end, and November has come rolling in. Although I’m not particularly a fan of autumn, I must say I have been really enjoying it this last month. There are two parks on close to where I live so walking to the university every day I get to see autumn in all it’s glory – colorful leaves and all. And the weather has been pretty favorable as well, so that’s an added plus.

Seeing this on the way to classes always puts me in a better mood.

Also a month has passed since I’ve started studying. My studying journey has had it’s ups and downs, and I’m still learning the ropes and adjusting to this new lifestyle. But overall things are a LOT better than they were at the beginning – when I was freaking out about everything and feeling completely overwhelmed. So I think things will keep getting better from here on out.

The end of the month means a recap on last months goals – so here goes…

1. Be more outgoing. Actually I didn’t do half bad on this one. I’m not naturally the “center of attention” type girl, but I’ve definitely stepped out of my comfort zone and made some new friends

2. Find a balance between studying and having a life. So I think I could work on this one a little bit more – when it comes to studying or hanging out and being social and tend to choose studying.

3. Take care of myself. That means getting enough sleep, moderate forms of exercise and eating right. This one I’ve done ok in. Exercise hasn’t really been in the picture much, as I’ve just sort of been adjusting to my new schedule. I also struggled with finding time to eat properly, but I’d say I’m doing much better with that now.

4. Keep up with blogging to some extent. Well I’m still post here from time to time – so I guess I’m doing ok J

All in all I’m pretty happy with how I accomplished my goals. What I do want to work on is getting in some exercise at least 3 times a week. I know things will get hectic and stressfull, and I DO get some exercise running to and from classes (some of the universities faculties are on the other end of town), but some quality exercise would be a good stress reliever and overall beneficial thing to do.

Too be honest I’m also kind of nervous about this next month. All the professors are saying that the fun and games are over and this is where the REAL studying begins. The problem is I’ve already been putting in a LOT of study hours, so I really don’t know where I’ll fit in more. I have 4 big tests coming up, and I’m already feeling close to breaking point sometimes.

However there are a few things I’ve learned so far, on how to cope with feeling overwhelmed and dealing with stress, and I intend to make good use of my experiences so far and hopefully things will go alright.

Here are some of the things that help me when I’m feeling totally overwhelmed or paniced.

  1. Stop, breath and realize your life does not depend on the outcome of this situation.Failing a test is NOT the end of the world, neither is missing a deadline or making a mistake. There are lots of people out there who have a lot more serious things to worry about – such as simply stuggling to stay alive. By comparison, your problems are pretty trivial.

    Compared to his problems, my little worries are nothing.

  2. Make a to-do list. Somehow putting things on paper helps me know where to start when I feel buried under my to-do’s. It’s also encouraging to be able to cross of to-do’s and realize you’re getting somewhere.
  3. Don’t let stress get the better of you. Stress is a funny thing – a little bit can motivate you, but too much robs you of the ability to do anything. So I find that when I feel my stress levels going through the roof I need to take a break and do something “de-stressing” – go for a run, clean the dorm, read some blogs, talk to someone.
  4. Take a break to do things you enjoy. I’m a work-a-holic and sometimes I wish I could work non-stop without needing to take breaks. But then I’d be a machine and not a human being – so I guess that’s not the ideal solution either. Taking breaks to do things I enjoy helps me maintain some sort of balance, and it helps me remember what’s really important to me.

Alright, well that’s all from me. Now over to you.

–          What are you looking forward to this next month?

–          What do you do when you’re feeling overwhelmed?

8 comments

  1. I live on to-do lists. Except I do them all mentally now. I’ve gotten so used to using them i don’t even write them down. I hope everything is all right. When I’m overwhelmed I always kind of freak out but it ends up all right.

  2. To-do lists are LIFE SAVERS!!! They help me get more done throughout the day — I like getting to check them off and see a fully checked list at the end of the day. 🙂

    Sleep is one thing I am going to work on this month!

  3. I think you’ve done really well with your goals lovely so feel pleased with yourself 🙂
    Good luck with the tests, I’m sure you are going to do brilliantly, you’re so hardworking!
    I love your list, I agree with everyone of them. I make tons of lists and they really help me calm down when I can see everything written down.
    Definitely with you that it is important to take a break and do something you enjoy – it definitely helps to clear your head!
    This month I’m looking forward to spending this week at home 🙂
    I’m also looking forward to seeing my boyfriend again at the end of it!
    And don’t worry about feeling overwhelmed, you’re definitely not alone!
    I’ve been feeling overwhelmed pretty much since I got to uni, I’m sure it’ll get easier for both of us soon 🙂

  4. I think I will defintely start doing #2 very soon,probably this evening already,because I think it could be really helpful for me!
    I am a person who likes to plan and on top of that,I like the idea of being able to be leterally able to “tick off” my duties and stuff.
    Thank you so much for your tips,your posts are always so inspiring and helpful! 🙂

  5. Yes. You have done well with your goals. It sometimes takes a bit for me to realize that I’ve actually accomplished something, even if I haven’t done “perfect”. I often set far too many goals as well. Yours are nice and manageable. I find a list helps me too.
    Being social is on my list as well. I have to force myself because I’m not the most naturally social person and it’s hard for me not to be critical of myself in social situations.
    best of luck!


Leave a Reply

