Always make time for food

Hey everyone!

Sorry I’m not really around much anymore. I JUST got internet at my dorm – but next week I have a whole bunch of tests coming up – anatomy and parasitology to be exact. I just spent the last six hours studying bones in the human body, and I think it’s about time I took a break 🙂

This week has been MUCH better then last week. I’ve had more energy, been more focused and felt more “in control” of everything then I did last week. I’m sure there were a few factors contributing to that, but I think I made an important discovery.

It’s worth it to make time to eat quality, wholesome food.

I’m sure to the rest of you this is obvious – but when things get REALLY hectic generally I don’t put so much focus into what I eat and how often, how much etc. Put a little bit of stress into the picture and I find myself hardly eating at all. In the short term I feel I really can’t be bothered with thinking and pre-planning my meals, especially when I have so many more “important” things to do. But as it turns out, it’s actually a worthwhile investment of time.

After last weeks less then stellar diet of rice cakes and  banana’s and almond butter I decided to go into the new week a little more prepared.

I actually ended up taking all of this from home, because I don’t have much time for shopping during the week. I also pre-cooked some brown rice at home too, because I knew I wouldn’t have time to do it at my dorm. Of course I bought fresh produce at the farmers market “on site”, but here’s what I packed from home – sunflower seeds peanuts, chickpeas, quick cooking oats, bran flakes, flax, rice cakes and some unpictured home-made hummus.

And thanks to a little bit of foresight and planning I was able to eat pretty well this week. I had one late night hunger attack, but that’s because I had an extra busy day and didn’t have time to eat enough. So I grabbed a cup of cereal and soya milk and slept like a baby the rest of the night.

Here are some eats from last week.

Started the week off on the right note – oats, apples and almonds

This has been the breakfast of choice this week – bran flakes, banana and kefir. I’ve just discoverd kefir is the one milk product that doesn’t freak my stomach out – and it’s got a fair amount of calcium and protein in it too – score!

I even managed a “fancy” breakfast one day – french toast with almond butter and fruit

Lunches and dinners usually looked something like this:

Brown rice, chickpeas and broccoli

Brown rice, egg and broccoli

Other lunches were usually hummus sandwhiches or something of the sort.

Actually I generally find it easier to find time to eat 6 mini-meals a day as opposed to large ones. Mini meals don’t take a lot of time to prepare or eat, and I find it easier to snack during the day then set aside a whole 30 minutes to eat a full sized meal.

A random mini-meal – served with a side of homework

But really, taking just a little more time to fuel myself properly has made a world of difference for me. Here are some things that chaged from one week to the next:

  1. More energy – Last week there were days I could hardly keep my eyes open. This week although I AM tired by the end of the day – I’m not so thoroughly exhausted I can hardly move.
  2. Better concentration – I actually get a whole lot more out of my classes then I did last week. And my post-class study sessions have been a lot more productive as well.
  3. Better mood – While this also has something to do with me adjusting to the whole “student lifestyle” thing I also know it has a lot to do with getting enough nourishment. I’ve felt more optimistic and alive as opposed to exhausted and overwhelmed.
  4. More time.- Although this might sound odd, taking a bit of time inntially to pre-plan and cook some of my food (rice and chickpeas) I actually saved time. Last week I spent a lot of time just buying food or thinking about it (when you’re perpetually hungry you tend to do that). Whereas this week it was really refreshing to come back to my dorm and know I had something I could eat there, as opposed to trying to figure out what to buy every day.

All that to say that it’s worth it to take the time to fuel yourself properly – especially during a really busy time. That’s when you need to be on top of your game and proper food helps you do just that.

Enjoy your weekend everyone! I’m already looking forward to my leisurely breakfast tomorrow.

Do you tend to forget to eat when you’re busy?

What are you best “on the go” eating tips?

9 comments

  1. Great eats! And im so glad to hear that kefir doesn’t hurt your tummy! Wooo! 😀
    I also thrive on mini meals, they’re perfect for the hectic-ness of class days. And I agree with the pre planning and food prepping, it saves me an incredible amount of time during the week too 🙂 Hope you have a relaxing weekend, you deserve it!

  2. I forget to eat when I’m busy but sometimes all I can think about is eating because I want to stop being busy and take a break to eat. I’m glad to hear you’re eating so healthy while off at school. That’s going to be my goal when I start college next year.

  3. I applaud you for being able to make easy and nutritious meals for on-the-go living. I know personally how difficult it can be and you’re handling it quite nicely. I also admire your attitude towards food at this time in your life: though you don’t always have time to make something more exotic or varied, you still consume healthy meals and you don’t let it bother you (or at least you don’t show it)! That’s so fantastic! I need to take a hint and stop worrying so much about balancing every single day in terms of macronutrients and food groups and just live a little. Who cares if one day I have 5 servings of fruit, white bread, and minimal vegetables if every other day I’m eating balanced?

    Good luck with your Anatomy class! I just had my first exam and I’m really excited to get the results back on Monday. 🙂

  4. I wholeheartedly agree with you that it’s worth it to make time to eat quality, wholesome food! It makes such a difference to your health and your energy!
    Your eats look really good, I’m impressed you made french toast 🙂
    Hope you’re having a nice relaxing weekend!

  5. I defo agree on always making time to eat. It makes you feel better and also, we always need a break from work and I think cooking and eating is a great way to relax for a bit.


Leave a Reply

