How college life is treating me (in case you’re not totally bored of hearing this already)

Living the university lifestyle is a one of a kind experience. I think it’s the sort of thing you either love or you hate. I’m currently sort of torn between the two.

I am studying to be a dietitian and that is treated as a branch of medicine here. Possibly it’s the same world over, I’m not entirely sure. So far I don’t know what to say other then I feel totally and utterly overwhelmed. At moments the stress and pressure of having so much to do and so little time to do it in is exhilarating and I feel like I’m on a perpetual high – running to and from classes, filling out paper work, arranging this and that. On the other hand I feel like I have no idea what I’m doing, like this is far too hard and I’ll never manage to pass.

I’ve met some great people here though, and that’s a definite plus. As I mentioned earlier I have a great roommate, and my class mates are pretty ok as well. Of course there’s always gonna be a few people you just can’t “click” with, but I’ve totally accepted that. It’s just been one week, so I think I also need to have a chance to get to know everyone better before I can accurately judge.

But I’m definitely struggling to maintain balance between studying and relaxing and treating myself right. My diet has definitely been deficient recently, and although I do my best to eat regular meals and snacks it’s hard to find the time. I remember hearing about one girl who drank ensures through college – not because she needed to gain weight, but because she couldn’t find time to cook. Well at the time I was almost appalled by the idea, but now I totally understand where she’s coming from. At least she didn’t have to stress about shopping, cooking, washing dishes etc. Anyhow, I’m definitely gonna try to do better next week, after all I can’t live off food like this for ever.

This has been my staple breakfast for like a week now -2 rice crackers with almond butter and banana

A late night “dinner” rice crackers, tofu and tomatoes – well it’s better then ramen noodles right?

(And I am still eating, I usually pack sandwiches and if not I buy myself a whole wheat roll and kefir (a cultured milk drink that my stomach is currently tolerating) while I’m out and eat that. Snacks are usually fruit, though I’m thinking of making some granola bars and putting together some trail mix to take with me as well)

All my classes start at 8:00, so breakfast is definitely a rush and go affair. Although I seem to be eating and snacking way more than everyone else around me, and I feel kinda weird. Everyone else seems perfectly ok to go 6-7 hours without eating – whereas I start feeling weak and faint after just 3. It makes me feel somehow wrong, like something’s wrong with me that I need as much food as I do. Which of course is utter silliness, but still.

Although I do need to realize that fueling up properly is essential to my focus and concentration, so although it might take me a bit more time to prepare my food and eat it – it’s worth the investment in the long run. I’ve already gotten a few warning signals that I’m not eating enough (waking up in the middle of the night STARVING hungry – something that never happened before, being tired and fatigued during the day etc.) so I’ll definitely try to better with this during the week.

I just arrived home today – to pick up some more stuff and take care of some pending assigments that I have. It seems like my appetite is magnified times 10, probably because I actually have a bit of time to think about eating. But I’m not freaking out about it, I’m going with the flow and enjoying the time I have with my family.

Take care ya’ll and enjoy the weekend!

What are some good in-between class snacks?

Did you feel overwhelmed when you first started studying? Does it get better with time

8 comments

  1. Ahhh I can totally relate. I had struggles at the beginning of my freshman year really bad, I felt like I had no time to eat ya know? Now though, I feel MUCH better prepared. I like eating homemade granola, protein bars, trail mix or sandwiches for snacks the most. They’re quick, convenient and delicious!! 😀
    And heck yes I get overwhelmed with studying at first. Eventually I kinda get in a routine and I try my best to do stuff in advance though so I won’t get stressed 🙂
    You’re doing great girl, keep that pretty little head of yours held high!

  2. I also never understand how some people can go for 6 or more hours without any food! I need to eat every three hours to survive 🙂 And I can totally relate to all you have said. But I am so glad you have met some nice people, it always make all the studying easier. Things will definitelly get better with time. My first month at uni was almost a disaster, but once you get used to it, everything clears up and becomes prety enjoyable 🙂

  3. hi sweet pea! man! i was the same at uni….i didn’t eat properly at all. like you, breakfast was a rushed affair. lunch was squeezed in or forgotton and dinner was never thought about or planned properly. yep….nightmare! you just keep snacking sweetie! you’ll probably learnt about grazing on your course and the many benefits asspciated with it 🙂

  4. You shouldn’t compare your eating habits with those of others. Snacking is not a bad thing at all,and it is not unnormal to eat something every three hours! You know,it’s all a matter of habit – your body is used to some snacks in between. On top of that,it may appear like you eat more than those people around you,but you should keep in mind that you don’t know what they’re eating after coming home. Take my dad,for example: When he has to work,he often eats only a sandwich in between because he’s just so busy nd forgets about having a snack or something. But when he comes home,he honestly eats like a horse! 😛 So just trust your body and listen to its signals – I bet everything will b fine in the end 🙂
    I hope you enjoy the weekend and everything!

  5. I tend to make a big batch of whatever I feel like eating throughout the week on Sunday (chili, stews, curries, etc.), along with 4 portions of a grain, and a batch of hummus and I pack lunches throughout the week. I use reuseable Gladware containers and I pack up a little of everything and toss them in my backpack with a freezer pack, spoon, fork and cloth napkin. This way I have food on me whenever I need it and I’m able to snack when I need to instead of getting headaches and feeling dizzy and unable to concentrate on classes.

    Also, so long as the professor doesn’t mind, don’t feel embarrassed to eat during lectures! I know that most of my professors don’t care if we’re having a snack or a full-blown meal so long as we’re not disrupting others or making a scene.

  6. Don’t worry about the snacking thing compared to what the other kids do. You are listening to your body and that is all that counts. 🙂 For snacks, I would definitely say a fruit ALONG with some nuts or a granla bar, like you said. Some of my other favorites are raw veggies with hummus/nut buttah, soy nuts, etc! 😀


Leave a Reply

