How not to panic

 

 

First off, thank you all for your comments. Just hearing someone tell you that everything is going to be ok somehow makes everything seem much more manageable. I still have moments when I feel totally and utterly overwhelmed – but it’s getting better.

Today I spent the better part of the day shopping for basic dorm necessities and other things I’ll need before uni. Although I did have a minor panic attack this evening when I realized that half of the paper work that I had to have in order before I start is faulty (I downloaded an out-of-date form) I’ve kind of gotten over the initial shock of it all and feel a bit more calm. I just have a day’s work cut out for me, but I’m sure it’s something I can manage.

I realized that extreme stress tends to absolutely overwhelm me. Not stress so much as having unexpected things come up. I can deal with deadlines, extreme workloads and crazy work environments as long as I know what’s coming. Then I can plan ahead and it all feels somewhat “controlled”. But throw something unexpected like this my way and I feel absolutely helpless and panicked.

I think what’s important is not to let little things like this overwhelm you, no matter how impossible the situation might seem. Chances are things aren’t nearly as bad as you think they are – it’s just you’re unprepared for them. What helps me is to step away for a moment or 2 and clear my mind. Talking it over with someone that I’m close to usually helps to give me a different perspective on the situation as well – they see things from a much more logical viewpoint then I do. And then I tackle the problem like I do anything else – break it up into small manageable steps and slowly work it all out.

The worst thing to do at times like these is panic, because that never helps the situation AT ALL. You’re too busy freaking out to be able to do anything productive, and you’re actually making the situation worse. I’ve found laughing is a much better option, even if you feel like crying.

Today Β a lot of things didn’t go according to plan, but in the midst of it all I somehow managed to maintain my sanity – sure there were a few freak out points, but any day that ends over a drink with friends and some leisurely blog reading is bound to be ok.

 

In other news I’ve mastered the art of express food preparation. I’ve spent so little time home the past few weeks that I’ve learned to throw meals together in 15 minutes flat. And amazingly my stomach issues have been much better this week then they have in times past, so I’m one happy little pumpkin.

 

Oats are back! Turned out I wasn’t bored of them, I was just making them wrong. On display we have quick cooking oats with some raisin/peanut butter – nut butters make everything better.

 

A sunny side up egg with rye bread and a shredded carrot, baby spinach salad topped with toasted sunflower seeds.

This was one of my most favorite meals this week – steamed brocolli, chickpeas, tofu and peanuts served over brown rice. All that protein kept me full FOREVER

 

Real simple- brown rice, chickpeas and soya sauce over baby spinach.

 

How do you deal with unexpected situations and problems? Are you generally calm and collected or are you a freak-out like me?

What’s your favoroite grain? – for me it’s definitely oats for sweet and brown rice for avory. I could eat both every day πŸ™‚

9 comments

  1. Oats and Rice are some of my favorite grains too! πŸ™‚ And I totally agree — nut butter makes EVERYTHING better. πŸ˜€ When everything goes crazy for me, I usually just freak out like you. I just have to remember to breathe and push forward.

  2. I freak out pretty hardcore when things don’t go as expected, but I’m trying to learn to go with the flow πŸ™‚
    Your favorite meal with the broccoli tofu and peanuts sounds SO delicious!!! I really wanna make that now haha

  3. I saw the title and thought, “I totally need to read this right now. It’s so relevant!” I have stress and anxiety problems and with colleges, scholarships, 2 AP classes, and yearbook both of those levels are at an extreme high. I need to work on just going with the flow and focusing on getting stuff done.

  4. I think for savory it’s a tie between brown rice and wheatberries / Kamut, depending on whether or not I want something chewy or firm. For sweet, and sometimes savory, I love millet, especially when cooked just enough to make sure it still has a slight crunch.

    Glad to hear everything is going well for you for your first few days of uni! The more life goes on the more I realize that there aren’t too many things worth getting worked up over – in the end it’ll be fine and I’m not going to die. πŸ˜› I do hope things get straightened out for you enough to relax soon though!

  5. i seriously love your thoughtful posts so so so much. i definitely relate a lot to what you’re going through. i think part of growing up is learning how to deal with stressful situations without getting overwhelmed and crazy. my mantra these days is “keep your cool.” and “keep calm and carry on.” it helps to repeat these things to myself because you’re right, freaking out does not help the situation at all, and instead it clouds your emotions and senses – and it’s a lot of wasted energy. and i think trying to be more flexible and realizing that a lot of things will always be out of your control and knowing that best thing is just to go with the flow really helps to keep me calm! definitely still a work in progress though.

  6. I believe that quick and easy meals are the best for our stomachs, because we arenΒ΄t putting too much pressure on them πŸ™‚ I love oats for breakfast, brown rice or millet for lunch and some whole wheat bread for dinner. Sometimes I buy kamut and it is also very tasty, but a bit too pricey.
    I am glad to hear how you are dealing with all the stuff, seems like you working on your “stress-management” πŸ™‚ I am so bad at this, I always freak out when things arenΒ΄t going according to plan and I think I stress myself more than the actual situation stresses me πŸ™‚ I am usually making lists to organize my thoughts and chores…

  7. Oh I freak out like you πŸ˜› But you have no choice but to deal with it. You soon get used to it though. That’s what college is about! It’s time to learn to be spontaneous πŸ˜›

    My favourite grain at the moment is still oats but in toasted muesli πŸ˜‰

  8. I prob freak out 90 times worse than you! LOL
    We’ll learn eventually though, takes time to become an easy “adjuster”. I really think its important though to learn how to go with the flow of things but your doing great.

    xx


Leave a Reply

