First day at uni.

First day at uni.

Wow guys, it’s been a crazy day. I’m filled with so many conflicting emotions I have no idea how to wrap my head around it all. All I know is there is a lot of new and different experiences on the horizon, and I just hope I’m ready for them.

Basically today was just “orientation” day. We had a few organizational meetings, filled out paper work and had some kind of basic safety class. Sounds pretty easy going, right? Well it was, but not quite as much as it sounds.

I arrived at the dorm the night before, because there were no buses from where I currently live to the university early enough to ensure I’d make it to class on time. In any case will still be staying at home for the next few days, but I wanted to get a general idea of what the dorm will look like, what I needed to bring etc.

Amazingly I found the dorm pretty easily – which I was grateful for because walking around in a unknown city for TOO long after dark was not my idea of fun. There was a bit of paperwork and business stuff to take care of before I could get settled, but finally the time came for me to head up to my room.

Thankfully my roommates hadn’t arrived yet, so I was able to snap a few pictures of the place to give you a better idea.

The kitchen

The room

The bathroom

Basically it’s like a small apartment with 2 rooms and two people in each. Then we have a kitchen, a bathroom and a tiny entrance room. It’s really not much, but I’m sure it’ll be ok.  I just hope my roommates are nice people, because otherwise this whole dorm experience could prove to be less then pleasant.

I woke up the next morning way too early for comfort (5:30 AM), but I was able to get ready for my first day at a relaxed and calm pace- and enjoy my first breakfast at the dorm. I was so nervous I had a hard time eating it, but I’m glad I did.

Strawberry bran flakes, one medium banana sliced in and a handfull of roasted almond with a side of water 🙂 A totally on-the-go breakfast.

All ready for my first day as a student

The rest of the day was spent waiting on tardy professors, filling out paper work, running from faculty to faculty, meeting people and trying to make sense of an insanely disorganized lesson plan. Then I almost missed the last bus home and had to run to catch it – but thankfully I was able to make it back fine.

I’m not sure if this is normal for people starting uni, but I feel so completely, totally unprepared. I still have so much to take care of before moving in – shopping and furnishing my dorm, paper work, last minute cramming and moving out. Plus I’m a bit worried about how I’ll manage the stress, how I’ll get along with my roommates. And as I don’t intent to live off ramen noodles for the rest of the academic year I’m going to try to balance healthy living with all of that – I think I’ve got my work cut out for me.

One things for sure, I will miss the tasty, relaxed meals I’ve been enjoying lately.

I’m so scared, worried and exited all at once – I’m not sure how I feel. I guess I’ll just take it one day at a time and see where that takes me.

Any students out there with advice or thoughts on the topic? It would be very much appreciated at this point.

Have an amazing week everyone!

11 comments

  1. I can totally relate with the conflicting jumble of emotions! It can be so crazy going to a new place. I think my mental chaos subsided when I got into a routine 🙂 I still miss relaxing home meals though, I guess it’s something to look forward to for when you go home!
    Your dorm is NICE!! I have a feeling you’ll be whipping up some awesome eats in that nifty kitchen 😉
    Don’t worry about a thing girl, you’ll get into the swing of things in no time! I’ll keep you in my thoughts this week! 🙂

  2. I understand your feeling, it is all pretty normal when you are starting the uni. Don´t worry about the roommates, they have no other choice than to love such a cute person as you are! And if, by any chance, you wouldn´t get on very well, you can always change the room or seek for another option. The eating at uni really can be a challenge, but it is all do-able. Fruit and veggies are always a healthy snack options, cereals are not a bad breakfast or you can prepare a batch of oatmeal or other grains, store them in the fridge and make a quick breakfast with them. The same applies to legumes etc. I usually cook more servings at once and then store them in the fridge or freezer, taking them out in the morning and having a convenient, quickly prepared meal.
    Give it a a tim, once you get used to your schedule and all the new information rolling over you, you will be fine! 🙂

  3. My first day of university was over 4 years ago but I still remember those days like they were yesterday! I understand your nerves about the new roomies but don’t fret too much about it. I think I spoke to my roommate a handful of times over a year and it was still one of the best years of my life! Also, don’t worry too much about sticking to a healthy eating plan … yes, eat well when you can, but also enjoy all that comes with living in a dorm including late night pizza, cake, packaged goods, etc. etc. Trust me, when you look back on these days you’re not going to remember that you ate well balanced meals everyday. You’ll remember the hilarious conversations with friends, having too many cocktails and enjoying life to its fullest! 🙂

  4. That is something I’ve been thinking about myself. I’m starting college in 2012 and have been having all of this stuff in my mind constantly! I would really love it if you could keep me updated with how you are doing, how you’ve adjusted to such a change, etc. 🙂

  5. Hey Leelu

    You might remember me from the orange, if not, hi again! I’m Emma, I’ve been lurking your blog for the past few months.

    First of all, BREATHE. What you’re feeling is COMPLETELY normal. I’ve only moved in to res four weeks ago, and started classes three weeks ago, and I felt the exact same as you.

    It’s not an easy transition, that’s for sure, and you’re going to feel really overwhelmed for the first week. Again, that’s normal. Until you get into a routine, feel comfortable in your classes and the expectations, you’re going to feel a little off.

    Give it time, and given yourself a break, okay? You can’t be expected to manage everything perfectly.

    Also, and I can’t stress this enough, but get out there and be involved with your school. It will make things so much easier when you have a connection/feel like you’re part of something.

    Good luck! You’ll do great 🙂

  6. I completely understand where you’re coming from!! Although I’m in my third year of college, I’m studying abroad this year so it’s something new. When my parents said goodbye to me, I was sort of numb and didn’t know anyone. I woke up the next morning and proceeded to cry from 7am until noon. It’s so hard because I want to be social and at the same time I don’t, but if I don’t then I get terribly sad and lonely. Just make sure you go out and at least meet people. I’m living in a flat with 6 other people, so that has its advantages.
    I find that smiling at myself in the mirror and repeating what i know to be true helps. In the moment it doesn’t seem to, but if you step out of yourself and acknowledge that what you’re saying is in fact quite true, it can be quite helpful.
    Best of luck! I’m there too.


Leave a Reply

