Thoughts on vegetarianism

First off thank you all SO SO MUCH!!!! I was totally blown away at the support and response I got in regards to my last post. It was difficult to make that commitment and share it with all of you, but I’m so happy I did. Your replies and words of support and encouragement mean more to me then you’ll ever know.

Anyhow, enough with the gushy stuff 😛

I watched a very disturbing video the other day. I’m not usually one to be affected by graphic images, but this video made me physically ill. It was about what goes on behind the walls of slauter houses, and how commercially farmed animals are raised and killed. Although I knew all this before in theory, to see it put in a graphic way made it hit home all the harder.

(I am posting the link to the video if anyone is interested. But it IS very graphic and disturbing and if you’re someone who needs to eat meat for medical reasons or you just enjoy it – please don’t watch it!)

http://www.meat.org/

However, watching this video sparked some rather interesting thoughts on the matter. First off, I was hit with overwhelming guilt that I was still eating commercially farmed animal products. I eat eggs, yogurt and cheese from time to time. I eat fish once a week. I don’t really give myself the title of “vegetarian” unless I’m in a very public situation where explaining my eating habits would take far too long. But after watching this video I felt like I was committing the unforgivable sin by eating these animal products.

As I was thinking about it, some other thoughts came to mind. The truth is I could NOT have a healthy, balanced diet without these animal products. I simply can’t afford free-range eggs. I don’t have access to enough soy products to be able to supplement my diet sufficiently without those animal sources of protein. I just don’t have the money or access to products that would make this possible. Plus my health is in a pretty delicate state at the moment, so I have to be extra careful that I’m getting all the nutrition my body needs.

So in essence I am faced with a choice – me or the animals? Do I value my own health over the well being of those animals that have to suffer for my sake? If I were to stop my animal product consumption all together – would that be right? Don’t I have as much of a right of those animals to live a healthy, happy, pain-free life?

Those are some difficult questions, but in the end (and this might be selfish of me) I feel I need to continue eating some animal products. I will attempt to keep them to a minimum, so I am doing my part to save the environment and the animals in it. But I’m not really ready to give up my health and well-being in order to live 100% vegan. Someday – maybe. I truly wish that it were possible right now. But it’s not, so I will do the best I can and trust that I am doing the right thing.

Any thoughts? I’m open to opposing opinions as well, so no worries :P.

8 comments

  1. Hi! You really stated some difficult questions 🙂 But I think that you there´s no need for justifying your diet or for being worry about your choices – you or animals? You are really helping just by thinking about all of this and by writing about such things. Everyone can has his/her own way of helping animals and even though animals are “silent” and somewhat relying on us, you have to put yourself first. Because you are your greatest friend and greatest support. If you cannot rely on yourself, than on who? So just do what is right for you, what works for you, what makes you healthy and happy, because I think that´s what you really need right now.
    BTW I have seen that video before and yes, it is extremely disturbing!

  2. I can never watch those videos, they’re just so sad! Even though I’m a meat eater, I sure don’t like the way they treat animals that become food. I don’t eat red meat because of how it makes me feel as well as the cruelty to cows, but I’m just not willing to give up chicken, fish, or dairy haha
    When I go grocery shopping though, I try to choose organic or farmer’s market meats so I know *hopefully* better practices were followed in the prep. I love the animals….but I love the meat…so I see the confusion you’re feeling. Just do what makes you happy and I’m sure the rest will fall into place! 🙂

  3. I tried to watch those videos and I just can’t do it. I decided to go vegan a while ago and I’m not completely vegan yet but I feel so much better eating entirely plant based meals. Still, though, I can understand how it’s hard to get a balanced diet with just plant things. And money. You have to do what’s best for you.

  4. I completely agree with you! People always want to put the animals first and I am completely OK with that. But when your own health is fading, is it really worth it? Especially when buying free-range and organic and everything else is so expensive. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely adore animals but I also strongly believe in the food chain. We were born to eat animal products hence the teeth designed to do so.

    Thanks for talking about this 🙂

  5. I’m pretty sure there’s nothing selfish about wanting optimal health and taking care of your body. Even if we’re to treat all living creatures with respect, we need to remember that we are one of those living creatures too! I’ve found myself in the same dilemma and lately I’ve been getting over it. There are more important things to worry about in life. At this time in your life, if you don’t have access or money to afford things like cage-free eggs or organic products, it’s not your fault. And by showing the fact that you care and you would make those choices, had you the resources, proves that you’re not selfish in the first place.

  6. I strive to eat a plant based diet. I wish I could be able to call myself a “vegetarian,” but I think that would put me back into my restrictional mindset, and I DON’T want that to happen. So focusing on eating a plant-based diet is what works best for me.


Leave a Reply

