Things I learned this past week and August goals recap

  1. Sometimes you need a break to truly appreciate things you love. I haven’t seen my family in over two months now, and as much as I have a hard time admitting it to myself – I really miss them. Absence makes the heart grow fonder and I’m actually looking forward to seeing them in a week.

Also, warm banana oatmeal and I have been on a “break” for a while – but I don’t think they’ve ever tasted this good 😛

Creamy banana oats topped with crunchy apricot/almond granola and cinnamon

  1. Sometimes you need to spoil yourself and live a little. The other day I had a random morning chocolate craving, so I cut up some of my 80% chocolate and stuck them with my banana oats in the microwave for a few minutes. It was heaven in a bowl I tell you.
  2. Don’t be afraid to be unconventional, if doing something “weird” makes you happy – go for it. I’ve been eating my oats with a fork these past few days, and enjoying it SO much more.
  3. The only way to celebrate the beginning of autumn is to be outside as much as possible. I went to meet a friend in town the other day, and spent 4 hours just walking around and enjoying the sunshine – it was one of my most enjoyable days this week.
  4. Don’t pack egg sandwiches – ever! Not unless you want your bag smelling like eggs after only an hour. I was shopping and when I opened my bag to get my wallet the whole area around me started smelling like boiled eggs. People actually turned around to see what the smell was – not cool.
  5. Health food shopping is incredibly fun, but only if you have a bunch of money to blow. Seriously, I was in heaven in this shop, but I couldn’t buy a 10th of the things I wanted.    
  6. The things that are really worth something cost something. I’ve been debating buying almond butter for a while now, but always held back because of the price tag . Well the other day I took the plunge and did it. I’ve never actually “bought” nut butter before, I always make my own. I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but I decided to go for it anyways. It made a debut at this morning’s breakfast  and boy it was worth every penny

And since it is the weekend there was only one thing I was considering for breakfast – pancakes!

Almond butter and banana> yogurt and honey any day.

Ok enough randomness from me, time to look at how I did with accomplishing last month’s goals.

  1. Eat more healthy fats. (I did OK on this. I’ve been adding more fats, but probably still not enough. But with this new almond butter I have there should be no problems at all.)
  2. Put more into my blog. (Meh, didn’t do so great on this one, I guess we can’t win em’ all.)
  3. Start some kind of exercise training plan – either strength or running (DONE – I now do a combination of both and sort of go with the flow of what I feel like doing. And I’m lovin’ it!)
  4. Relax and enjoy life more.  (I did pretty good with this, although I’m still finding a balance between work/relaxing, I’m definitely on the right track.)
  5. Focus more on enjoyment when eating, rather than just the nutritional value of foods. And splurge a little – challenge those remaining ED thoughts. (Definitely been doing a lot of that lately – and it feels good)

 Share something new you all learned this past week.

17 comments

  1. Great job on the goals and on buying almond butter woohoo! I absolutely love this post–what you said/learned is so true. And for the record, that health food store would’ve gobbled up all of my money, it looks amazing!! 😀
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  2. I agree on everything!! Especially number 1, I never really realize how I miss my family until I spend too much of time without seeing them.
    It is the Countrylife shop in Prague, isn´t it?!? It´s my favorite shop, but everything is sooo expensive! I love Monki nutbutters, they are delicious!
    You did amazing job on your goals!!! You deserve every treat possible, even if it is a bit over-pricey almond butter 🙂

  3. I used to get so much stick for egg sandwiches in my lunch box ‘cos, yeah, you can smell them from a mile off!

    Number one is so true. The health food shop looks like so much fun and I can just imagine the damage you can do to your bank account!!!

  4. Awesome! When I first discovered almond butter it was so delicious that I had it on everything. Now I can’t stand it which is really sad. I can’t really stand any nut butter now. Hopefully I get over this very soon!

    I learned that chocolate is suitable at ANY time of the day.

  5. Great job on your goals!! And I totally agree with what you learned this week – especially 1 and 2.

    I learned that having a confident (but not cocky) attitude is actually the best way to GAIN confidence! Fake it til you make it perhaps?

  6. I agree with all of these!! I like #3, it’s really neat that you’ve been eating oatmeal with a fork. I’ve never tried it before, and i think i will soon!
    and awesome job on your goals–you did really well accomplishing them! 🙂

  7. Pingback: My Life Is Full Of Butterflies! « KatsHealthCorner

  8. Great job on the goals!
    Love chocolate, I have a bar of the darkstuff in my fridge and snack on it all day. 🙂 &Banana oatmeal is theeeee best, ever.

  9. I feel like im ALWAYS learning something new but I cant think of anything off the top of my head haha!

    Fats use to be so hard for me but i feel like im doing awesome with them lately 🙂 I love fats !

    xx

  10. I just found your blog! I love knowing I’m not alone! 🙂 Great job on your goals girl! And those oats, NOM! You have inspired me to set some goals as well. And I thin kit will feel really good actually ticking it off like a list. Thank you and keep up the posts!


Leave a Reply

