Protein packed voluminous oats

Hello everyone.

I know I promised this a while back, but here’s the tutorial for my voluminous protein packed oats.

Step 1. Put a serving of oats (1/3 – ½ cup ) into the pot

Step 2. Add 1 1/2 cups of water and/or milk.

Step 3. Crack an egg white (or two if you really need a protein boost) into the oats/liquid

Step 4. Using a whisk thoroughly mix the egg white with the water. This step is crucial, so do it thoroughly. I know it’s well mixed when a “foam” appears on top.

Step 5. Turn the heat on to medium and cook, stirring occasionally, till it boils. Then reduce the heat to slow and cook for 15-20 minutes or till reaches the desired consistency. If you want to cook fruit into the oatmeal now is a good time to do it. The oats are done when they are still slightly soupy but most of the water will have already absorbed. As they cool they thicken up quite a bit, but it’s really a matter of personal preference when you stop cooking them. The shorter you cook them, the more they reduce however, so my suggestion would be to take them off when they’re still slightly liquidy.

Step 6. Stir in mix ins (protein powder) if desired, cool slightly and serve. Or do what I usually do and leave cook them the night before and leave them in the fridge. Then they get REALLY thick and in the morning you can heat them to your desired temperature. For best flavor top with fruit, granola, nuts – whatever floats your boat.

Step 7. Enjoy the breakfast for as long as possible, and try not to be too crushed when it’s all over 🙂

Today's breakfast was exceptionally tasty. Chocolate oats topped with 1/2 banana, almonds, granola and a bit of yogurt. Just thinking back on it makes me hungry

On a side note I have wholeheartedly joined the ranks of the dark chocolate lovers. I’ve had this in my possession for a while, so I have no idea why it’s taken me so long to try it

Best chocolate ever! And I totally did not stop at just one peice – proud of it!!!

Have a great week everyone filled with great breakfasts and desserts

What is your current favorite way of cooking oats?

8 comments

  1. I am spotting some very pretty bowls of oats 🙂 And I am so proud of you – you enjoyed your dark chocolate! I love dark chocolate so much, nothing less than 85 percent works for me 🙂
    When it comes to oats, I am not into cooking them lately. I just pour some boiling water into a bowl with oats, stir a couple times and then put it to the fridge. Easy and tasty. But your way is definitely prettier and more elaborated:)

  2. I love, love, LOVE adding egg whites to my oats. I’ve been doing it for a few years now, and I can’t honestly imagine ever going back to having oats without them. They just make the perfect fluffy, cake-like oats ever. Love them 😀 And I always add in some whipped banana for sweetness, and then pudding and almond butter for ooey-gooey-ness. Eep. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.

  3. I like half water, half milk, sprinkle of sugar and salt and then cinnamon. (Sometimes vanilla extract). I’m thinking of trying out protein powder though. A extra protein hit + great taste? Sounds like win win to me!

  4. At the moment my favourite way of cooking oats is with not much liquid in the microwave. I used to be dead set on cooking them on the stove but then I grew tired of it. Now I’m looking at everyone’s stove cooked oats and wishing that I could be bothered to do the same. Maybe one day I will 😛
    Yours look delicious!
    xxx

  5. I’m to hungry in the a.m after my workout to make oats for 20 mins. I like mine done in about 2 mins hahaha.. But i should really try those one of these days, ive never added eggs to my oats. Sometimes i have them for dinner maybe ill try it then.

  6. Pingback: Ode to the egg | A new start


Leave a Reply

