What;s been going on and another step forward

Hi guys!

I’ve been planning this post for 2 days now, but somehow I never seem to get around to writing it. I really need to work on my self-discipline in blogging 😛

But without further ado, here’s what I’ve been up to recently:

Good food:

 

(I know that 2 cereal breakfasts in one week are SOOOOO not me. One day I wanted to work out soon after breakfast so I figured oats were a bit much. Today’s breakfast on the other hand (the one below) was a different story. The microwave must have broken or something because my oats would not cook. It was the weirdest thing. I put them in and 5 minutes later I’d pull them out and the bowl would be warm, but nothing was going on with my oats . I tried changing the settings twice (and trashing two bowls of oats in the process) before I gave up and went with cereal. It wasn’t the worst thing ever though, and it’s good to know that I can switch things up a bit without freaking out 😉

There was also some oatmeal consumed – in the form or rasperry truffle protein oats (oats with vanilla protein powder and rasperries stirred in)

 

And here’s another new to me dish that was so good that halfway through eating it I stopped to take a picture.  Whole wheat cous cous with brocolli, chickpeas with a garlicy “cheese sauce”. This was the first time I was using nutritional yeast and a splash of milk as “cheesy sauce” and I was surprised how good it was.

Even though the picture is really bad 😛

Fresh air and a healthy dose of nature.

All the bushes under the tree are filled with blueberries. It’s almost the end of the season, which means they are SO ripe and juicy right now. I’ve been out blueberrie picking twice and I love it. I usually do it at the end of a long day when I’m too tired to go on a real “walk” but at the same time I want to get out of the house and de-stress. Plus blueberries are delicious, tasty and (in my case) organic and free. Sounds like a good deal no?

Well, when you look past the blueberry stains on your hand 😛

A bit of baking:

I made these oatmeal banana/blueberry snack bars about a day ago. Although I’ve eaten 4 so far, the recipe still needs to be perfected a bit. But they ARE good.

By now you’re probably wondering what the second part of the post title. Well Sunday evening I ended up going out with my friends to see a movie. Sunday was an unplanned “rest-day” because I just didn’t feel up to a workout. I planned some yoga for the evening, but since my friends meeting up and going out I opted for that instead. We had a few hours before the movie started so we decided to go grab a bite to eat. By popular vote we ended up going to a “fast-food” steak house. Naturally this was slightly problematic for me as I don’t eat red meat. But there ended up being one fish dish on the menu, and it came with a side of roasted vegetables. Score for me! Well, when it came to the table I couldn’t help but notice the ring of oil around the veggies, not to mention the fish look and tasted like it had been poached in butter as opposed to grilled.  But guess what. I ate all that fish and 3/.4 of the veggies and only stopped because I was full. My ED thoughts tried to creep up on me, but I just completely shut them out. I was not going to let me stupid eating disorder spoil an entire evening for me. And it didn’t. We watched a funny movie “Horrible Bosses” (in case anyone was interested) and all in all I had a really enjoyable evening. I didn’t worry for a second about all the calories I had just eaten, or the fact that I needed to “burn them off”. It was the most amazing feeling.

The next day I was feeling lousy from the very morning. Something was off – I felt dizzy, weak and light headed. People commented that I was looking extra pale and should lie down. I lied down twice, but it didn’t help much. Still, I really wanted to work out since I hadn’t done so in a few days. But I resisted the urge and did what was best for my body – despite what my mind was telling me to do. And it was a good thing to, because that evening I was unfortunate enough to eat some mushrooms that had been picked from the forest. They were supposedly “edible”, but after sautéing them up with some garlic  and tasting them they were just too bitter to eat. I spent the rest of the evening with severe stomach pains and nausea and fully recovered from that today – so that was definitely one of my less exiting adventures.

All that to say I’m proud and happy about all that already happened this week, and I’m eagerly looking forward to the coming days.

Have you ever gotten food poisoning?

Is it easy for you to let yourself have a rest day, even if you weren’t “planning” one?

8 comments

  1. I hope there are more “amazing feeling” moments in your future like you had at the movie and maybe less mushrooms and CERTAINLY more magical nutritional yeast discoveries.

  2. I love how you put your oats in those neat glasses, that’s so cool!
    I was floored when I read how strong you were with the rest days and the restaurant experience, you’re truly an inspiration 🙂 Keep up the great fight, you’re making such fantastic progress!

  3. Girl you did SO awesome! Not only because you had a great time with your friends, but because you did the right thing and gave your body some rest. I know how hard it can be to deal with unplanned rest days because I used to suffer from the same anxiety and guilt in the past, but rest is SO amazing for the body. I increased my rest days from 1 a week to 2-3 a week, and I’ve only been experiencing positive results. My workouts are way better, my energy and mood have improved, and dare I say that I’m looking better, too 😀 It’s good to push ourselves, but not to the point of overtraining. So rest up and enjoy it 😀

  4. You did amazing!! Rest days are always a challenge for me especially if they involve eating out. But I’m so glad you were able to fully enjoy everything!

    Yuck, I’m sorry about the food poisoning. I’ve had some mild icky feelings after eating, but fortunately nothing major. Glad you recovered!

  5. Food poisoning is the worst! I hate that feeling, glad to hear your doing better. Great job with the rest days, they are what your body needs!

  6. Well done for going out with friends and eating something “foreign”. When I first started doing that I would literally freak out but no one had any idea that I was. It was all boiling up on the inside. Now, I take for granted how far I’ve come. Just last night I went to the movies with my Dad and we got fast food for dinner and I just don’t think anything of it. Recovery is ever so liberating 😉

    Food poisoning? YES! I got food poisoning Christmas Eve 2003. I was sick for a year after that as well all because of some very bad coleslaw. Cannot touch the stuff anymore. YUCK.

  7. Good job going out with friends and eating new stuffs. I still haven’t done that.
    I’ve never gotten food poisoning. My dad did a lot but my mom always jokes that I’m so healthy because I’m made from “strong German stalk”. (I’m part German, part Aztec). And I can’t give myself a rest day unless I’ve planned it. If it’s unplanned I freak out.


Leave a Reply

