Advice for the new month (WIAW early edition)

 

Always start your mornings with a good breakfast.

(Breakfast: Oats cooked with an egg white topped with1/2 banana, bluberries, yogurt and home-made banana almond granola) 

PS: eating it out of a fancy glass makes it better.

Never wait so long before trying to make your own granola

 

Snack – random granola bites throughout the day (one side is coconut banana crunch and the other in banana bread almond bliss – and yes I did come up with those names just now :P)

(Ps: The secret to this granola is that instead of adding a lot of honey and oil I add a really ripe mashed banana and honey. This results in a super crunchie, banana flavoured granola that I can’t stop randomly snacking on. I will be posting the perfected recipie some time in the near future)

Always have boiled grains/beans on hand so you can throw together quick, healthy meals when life gets crazy

Lunch: a “5 second”WI brown rice and bean salad with corn, bell peppers and tomatoes

Never say you’ve had “too much fruit”

Part 1 of a snack (plus more throughout the day)

Post lunch dessert

Always try to spend your rest days outdoors (weather permitting). The forest is a great place, particularly when fresh berries are in season.

Never use your sweater as a makeshift “basket” when you forget a jar. Berries stain!

Always eat your dinners outside if the sun is out.

Dinnera whole wheat roll with mozzarella, pesto and tomatoes, and hummus + eggplant (extra eggplant, mozzarella and tomatoes on the side)

Never regret having dessert (even if it ends up giving you a stomach ache)

Banana bread oatmeal “cookies”

Always try take pictures of everything you eat for WIAW.

Never pretend you succeed 😛

Things that went unpictured:

Part 2 of morning snack : a few handfulls of chickpeas

Afternoon snack: cottage cheese and crackers + celery sticks

Sorry this post is kinda all over the place. Intense stomach pain doesn’t do much to fuel brain power 😛 I still don’t regret dessert though.

Does food taste better to you eaten in pleasant surroundings/ out of pretty plates?

Do you ever manage to take pictures of EVERYTHING you eat?

8 comments

  1. Your breakfast looks SO AMAZING! Oh my gosh. Your eats today are FABULOUS! YUM YUM! 😀 I tried taking pictures of what I ate today, but I didn’t get all of them. I was pretty close though! 🙂

  2. I agree with you on everything, especially that breakfast is the most important thing to start your day with 🙂 Nice plates/bowls make everything taste better 🙂

  3. As much as I’m trying to get away from rules and using the terms “always” and “never,” I like your advice. I also REALLY like the looks of your dinner! I’m dying to have some eggplant and our farmers’ market needs to hurry up and get some to their stand! I can only live on zucchini and tomatoes for so long. 😛

    • Ah yes eggplants. I love them and I’m really happy they’re back on the market. However I don’t have many creative ideas on how to make them aside from roasting and sauteing. Got any suggestions?

  4. The photography of your breakfast is so beautiful! I bet it tasted like a million dollars too 🙂 I don’t think I’ve been successful with taking pics of everything in one day, I mostly just plain forget haha!

  5. I don’t take pictures of my eats, unless they’re really pretty.
    & If im not on my laptop during a meal/snack, I make sure to be in a picturesque setting or at least have some good reading material 🙂
    That baguette looks amazing!


Leave a Reply

