Stress- free breakfasts

Since beginning work I’ve actually been forced to experience a shocking phenomenon known as stressful mornings. The morning used to always be a peaceful time for me, my “me” time. I could wake up, leisurely make and eat breakfast and THEN get going on the day. It’s not that this took so long, but the relaxed pace and the knowledge that I could just take my time to enjoy the morning is definitely something I miss.

I entered the era of waking up to alarm clocks, rushing around looking for clothes and accessories, hurriedly shoveling down breakfast and desperately hoping I’d make it to work before 8:00. Ok, so I may have made this a little more dramatic then it is in real life, but the fact of the matter is that there is quite a time crunch on my morning’s that I haven’t experienced before.

However after a few days I was able to develop a routine that has made the mornings a little less hectic. I’m a social creature so after a long day of work I usually meet up with some friends and hang out. I make it a point not to stay out too late, but sometimes these things just happen. On the other side of the coin I still like making time to have a proper breakfast in the morning. A yogurt eaten on the go or a quick toast with jelly doesn’t hold me over like it used to.

What I have found works for me is pre-making breakfast the night before. That way in the mornings I can get up a little later, and still have the knowlage that I have a good, wholesome breakfast to look forward to. This primarily relates to my “oaty” breakfasts that take a while to cook or (in the case of overnight oats) soak. I usually make a 2 batch serving of oats and add different toppings as the week goes on. Although if I feel like playing around with the mix-ins a bit (like I did this week) I tend to stick to single servings.

So without further ado – I present this weeks breakfasts.

Simplest breakfast: plain oats topped with a apple-sauce, yogurt iceing with chopped almonds

Tastiest breakfast: French toast on multi-grain bread  topped with tahini + honey ( amazing combo) and the other with yogurt + apple sauce. Massive orange on the side.

This breakfast (as I’m sure you were guessing) was not pre-made. I woke up early enough to have the time to treat myself to something extra special.

Time crunch breakfast : instant oats and wheat bran cooked with an egg white. Topped with a “melted banana”.

New breakfast: Carrot cake dough oats. I’ve always been wary of putting veggies in my oats, but I was feeling adventurous. And I was so pleasantly surprised with the results that I wanted to share them with you all.

Vegan carrot cake dough oats.

The night before I combined:

½ cup oats

¾ cup soya milk

2 tsp flax

A dash of cinnamon

A handful of raisins.

I gave all that a good stir and let it sit in the fridge overnight.

In the morning I finely grated 2 medium sized carrots and mixed them in. A handful of chopped, roasted almonds completed this breakfast. Be sure to mix well because the rasins will have settled to the bottom. I ended up drizzling a bit of raw honey on top of mine, only to have a sweet infusion when I hit the bottom.

All in all it was a delicious way of getting veggies for breakfast and although the picture doesn’t do it justice – I HIGHLY encourage you to try it.

Most voluminous breakfast. This was a result of my commitment to get more protein in my diet. It resulted in a very voluminous, filing bowl of oats. Topped with a very ripe nectarine and a bit of yogurt

The combination was ½ cup of oats, 2 egg whites and  1 ½ cups of water. My secret was to whip the egg whites in with the water at the beginning of the cooking process. That way the whole mixture thickened up while still maintaining it’s volume. Also, if you’re not to sold on the egg white flavor (although in my opinion it makes it more creamy) just make it the night before without re-heating it. The flavor is almost undetectable, and its perfect on a warm, summery day.

I’m really looking forward to tomorrow when I can wake up as late as I want and make myself a leisurely, lazy breakfast – I’m thinking pancakes.

Enjoy your weekend everyone!

What was the best breakfast you ate this week?

Have you ever experienced the “morning time-crunch”? How do you deal with it?

12 comments

  1. All of these look so delicious! I love the voluminous bowl and the carrot cake oats the best 🙂
    The best breakfast I had this week was probably a post workout sweet potato smoothie with sunflower butter, vanilla protein powder, soymilk, vanilla extract, and of course the beloved Mr. sweet potato mmm!! 😀
    Hope you have a great weekend!

    • 9 times out of 10 I have my oats cold during the summer months. However we’ve had a streak of bad weather, so I tend to heat them up at least a bit before eating them. I’ve never been a fan of hot oats though – I usually eat them lukewarm or cold.

  2. I enjoyed seeing all of your breakfasts! I’ve really wanted to try carrot cake type oats, so your recipe might be on my agenda.

    For about the last 7-8 years, I’ve had to get up and out the door pretty quick, so I’ve become good at planning what I want to eat for breakfast the night before and getting things prepared. At least if I organize/know what I want, it saves me time. Surprisingly I only recently discovered overnight oats, but they are certainly a great timesaver!

  3. I. Love. Breakfast. End of story! Sadly the best breakfast I had all week was a simple oatmeal and banana from Starbucks. I’ve been working a conference all week and the catered food was no bueno!

  4. I so love all your breakfast! I just finished my morning oatmeal, but looking at those pictures makes me go and grab another bowl 🙂 Well, I try to not do it, but it is hard to resist 🙂 I love adding melted banana on my oats, it gives them a really nice taste. And berries, they are the best addition to oats 🙂

  5. I’m a big fan of breakfast posts, especially when they involve so many delicious bowls of oatmeal 😀 Since I wake up so early every day, I don’t usually experience the morning time crunch. Even when I have to be out the door by 730, I still manage to cook a bowl of oats and be able to eat it without rushing. I need to start my mornings in a relaxed way, or my whole day feels too hectic. That being said, I’d appreciate it if I was able to stay up past 10 PM, but at least I still have my mornings 😀


Leave a Reply

