News, recipies and a whole lotta nothin’ :P

So I got accepted into my dream university! I am so jazzed about this that I don’t even know how to react. The last few days have been filled with running around filling out paper work (I’m applying for that scholarship) and looking at housing possibilities. Not only that but I was also travelling (one of my favorite activities) which involved all sorts of packing and preparations.

The trip – just like any- was very exciting. It started off with me losing my bus money; a pretty significant amount mind you; moments before it was scheduled to arrive. Cue a frantic searching, not a little bit of panic and a few tears. The money unfortunately wasn’t found (I found out later I dropped it in a shop while buying stuff for my trip – and someone picked it up and claimed it as theirs) but I was able to borrow some from my family, but it was a close call. This experience was followed by a 2 hour bus trip in blistering heat without air con to another city, a meet up with a close friend (I fully intended to get photo evidence of this even, but I forgot at the last minute) and another 10 hour bus ride to my final destination. The meet up was great, and the last bus ride was almost too good to be true – air con, an almost empty bus, pleasant drivers and a speedy trip. I guess to appreciate the good you have to go through the bad.

Now on a completely different topic I wanted to share two recipes that have become favorites of mine, and since for once I actually bothered with measurements you can try them too.

My summer bean dip from last WIAW

3/4 cup peas

1/2 cup white beans

salt to taste

1 tsp of dried basil (or any other summery, light herb or spice of your preference)

a squeeze of lemon juice

Blend the peas and the beans (adding reserved bean liquid if needed). Add herbs, salt and lemon juice, and continue seasoning to taste

 

And a…

Kid-friendly lentil dish

(The special thing about this dish is that my younger brothers and sisters, who are not too keen on lentils normally, LOVED this dish. My sister was very vocal about the fact she was disappointed by the lack of leftovers because she wanted to eat it tomorrow. And truth be told – so did I :P)

2 cups dry red lentil

800 grams chopped tinned tomatoes (about 2 cans)

2 tsp cumin

1 tsp oregano

1 small onion

1 whole garlic clove

2 tsp olive oil

Salt to taste

Saute onions in a non-stick pan for about 2-4 minutes on low heat (till they turn translucent). Add garlic and keep cooking for another 2-3 minutes. Add spices, mix well and add lentils. Keep cooking for another 5 minutes or so

Meanwhile bring 4.5 cups of water to a boil. Add about 2 tsp of salt (you can add more later on depending on your taste buds) and add lentils to the water. Cook on low heat for 40 minutes or till lentils are soft. Add in the chopped tinned tomatoes (with liquid) and cook till heated through. Add salt, pepper or other spices if desired.

Now switching topics again.

As much as I love being here and away from home I do find this environment slightly triggering. This is the place my ED began, and there are a lot of behaviors and habits associated with this place. And for some reason I’m tempted to go back to my old habits. It’s not even conscious most of the time, it’s just because I can. I can eat next to nothing and get away with it, I can work out for hours and no one will really care; the scale sitting in the bathroom is calling my name every time I pass it. So far I am staying strong and not giving into these urges – but any words of encouragement or support would be greatly appreciated.

Hope you all are looking forward to the weekend. I’m personally hoping for a sunny, hot one.

Take care all!

9 comments

  1. Congrats on ebing accepted to the unviersity! I am so happy for you 🙂 And thanks for both the recipes – I am always searching for new dips and lentils variations 🙂
    Stay strong girl, I know how hard it can be not to switch to the old “bad” habits, when you are in places that remind you of your “old” self. But you have already come so far in your recovery and all your posts on your ED history were so full of hope that I am really wishing you a lot more strength and a lot of will to overcome your current feelings! Enjoy your weekend and do what you love, what you enjoy, what is good for your mind and body ❤

  2. Congrats on the acceptance! I’m so happy for you; it’s so great to know where you’re going to be going to college and especially knowing it was your “dream university”!

    Keep ignoring those urges, focus on staying strong and healthy and remain positive – you have the ability and you’re perfectly capable of taking on this new page of your life!

  3. congrats! Im srok.ed for uni too, its coming up so quickly.
    Remember how empowering it is to stand up to ed urges/reactions and to do what YOU know is right for yourself! We’re rooting for ya

  4. I will be trying that dip, thank you.
    Sorry about the travel travails.

    It is hard to be in a place …like deja’vu….where you are reminded of how you used to be. <—USED TO BE. Key words. May I also encourage you to let the setting remind you of how miserable you used to be and how much more alive you are now. That kitchen used to be a place of…well now? It's a place where you are making fantabulous creations. YUM.

  5. Congrats!! Thats so exciting! I understand how you feel about being triggered and having ED urges, I’ve definitely been there before. What has helped me through it is reminding myself how much the ED has taken away from me and how I never want to go back to the life I used to live. Keep fighting, you’re stronger than your ED!

  6. Girl, I know you can do it. I know that habits can be hard to break (believe me, I’ve had my fair share). What seemed to help me was not just cutting the habit, but replacing it with another habit. I know that the ED urges can be strong, but I know that you can be STRONGER!


Leave a Reply

