Carpe diem – seize the day

So often we go through life without really living. We get from one day to the next- only to collapse in the evening and think “thank God that day is over”. And that’s the way we live each and every day – from the moment we wake up till the moment we lie back down. We get so caught up in work, responsibilities, deadlines and to-do’s that we go through life without really living it.

I decided that I was doing far too much of the above recently, so I decided to reverse the cycle.  I did all the things I loved – and it was a near perfect day.

I woke up bright and early (5:00) AM with the sun streaming through my window. After a little deliberation I grabbed a coffee and a cracker + banana, laced up my sneakers and went for a run.

I’m not a distance runner, because I just can’t do that and enjoy it. So I ran for only about 40 minutes – with a smile on my face the whole time. It’s on days like these I honestly LOVE exercise and the way it makes me feel.

I also love grooving out to this song while I run, and have the occasional driver passing me give me strange looks. Life’s too short to be miserable people! Or to care what others think of you for that matter.

I came home to the sound of quiet snoring – apparently no one else was in the “early bird” groove for the weekend. But I had something I’ve been wanting to try for far too long – and today was the day.

The bananas were a delicious brown and the oven was was calling my name. You guessed it – it was time to make banana bread.

 

And since life’s too short to waste waiting to buy a appropriately sized bread pan- I made it in a cake pan.

As the delicious smells of banana bread wafted through the kitchen (banana bread reminds me of my childhood because I had an uncle who used to have his own bakery who used to come over and make it all the time) I assembled my own breakfast.

Creamy oats topped with a banana, almonds and homemade blackberry jam.

Life’s too short to waste rushing around – so I made sure to really savor this breakfast.

Almost the minute breakfast became a memory it was time for the banana bread to come out – I did a test taste right out of the pan of course and saved the rest for snack.

A quick trip to the library was next on the agenda, and although it was closed, life’s too short to waste on regrets, I made a quick trip to the farmers market and bought some fresh produce (I was still able to stop by the library on the way home).

At home I made a tasty, quick lunch and took a nap. Lazy – maybe, but life’s just too short to waste on doing only what you SHOULD do and ignoring what you WANT to do.

Then I proceeded to make a yogurt mess with my banana bread and since everyone else in the house was lusting after my snack – I made them one too. A banana bread smoothie was the order of the day. Life’s just too short to spend thinking only about yourself.

That was followed by some book reading and yoga – life’s too short not to spend time doing the things that make you happy.

Dinner was also something new – broccoli polenta and beans . After all life’s too short to spend in your comfort zone – step out and try something new.

Then I attempted to watch a movie with my friend. We COULD not for the life of us get it to work. We had about every difficulty imaginable with getting it up and running. In the end we ended up watching it on 3 different computers (in sequence), with 2 different sets of speakers (switching half way through) and with at least 8 technical errors during the course of the movie. But hey – life’s too short to give up on something you really want to do.

Moral of this story is- carpe diem people!

Fill in the blanks – life’s too short to…..

What did you do today to “seize the day”?

5 comments

  1. “…life’s just too short to waste on doing only what you SHOULD do and ignoring what you WANT to do.”

    I think you said it perfectly yourself. 😉

  2. I love this. I noticed during school I wanted to just get the days overwith and move on. I wasn’t enjoying it and there was nothing I could do, so I’m really glad it’s summer. I get to spend time doing what I want and being happy. It is so important to enjoy living otherwise what are we living for? I believe that my purpose in life is to enjoy it, so that’s what I’m gonna do. That’s why I’m not going to work an office job. I’m going to do what I want even if it’s hard to get there. I just couldn’t enjoy myself if I worked behind a desk for someone all day or waiting tables forever.

  3. I love that you’ve taken this attitude – it’s great!
    Oh, and your banana bread looks deeeelish!!!

    Life is too short to not eat that second spoonful of
    pb when you really want it. 🙂

  4. Aww yay sounds like you had such an awesome day! I need to do more day “seizing” as well. I find myself waking up and thinking “oh I can’t wait to get back here tonight.” That banana bread looks delicious! I never have the right size tins for baking. I just bake in whatever I’ve got 😛

    xxx


Leave a Reply

