WIAW – part 2 (or beauty isn’t everything)

So I tried this once already and what can I say – I’m hooked.

]

(Warning – casulties were sustained in the making of this post)

Let me explain, yeasterday as I was making my almond butter spread for todays breakfast something unfortunate happened.

As I was eating out the rest of the almond butter cleaning out the immersion blender from the leftover almond butter spread I kept my finger too near the blend button. Apparently I got too exited and I must have accidentally pressed it, because before I knew it my finger was in excrutiating pain, there was blood and bruises and it hurt like HELL. And then the phone rang. Did I mention the two little munchkins (you know the ones from yesterday) calling my name? Yeah, that was exiting.

I breifly contamplated adding a photo of my “battle wounds” to the post – but since I don’t want to ruin your appetites (in case anyone is eating while reading this) I won’t. Let’s just say yeasterday my finger was in bad shape – but aside from some bruises and scabs things are back to normal today.

Anyhow, on to breakfast:

Got any ideas? Well when you make your own nut butter you don’t get to do OIAJ, so you make your oats in the same container you made your nut butter in. Not as ascetically pleasing, but works just as well.

So these are overnight oats in a jar  blender  – with banana, cherries and strawberries and almond butter – yum!

Next up was snack. Don’t ask why, but I have this insane cultured milk product craving recently. I wouldn’t decide between kefir and yogurt so I added a bit of both.

Mixed with apples and almonds + a date on the side.

Today was NOT my day however. It seems that everything was going wrong. Tempers were short, I was tired and stressed – did I mention I hate on-line registry of ANY kind. It seems no matter how hard I try something always goes wrong – but moving right along.

Bad mood + insanely hot weather = no appetite. But in the end there was something I wanted, so I decided to go for it.

This my friends would be an “Italian” tomato and zucchini salad – topped with olives, lots of mozzarella cheese (love) and dried oregano and basil. With balsamic vinegar and olive oil of course.

Unfortunately what I conveniently forgot is that I need to balance out my salad with a slice of bread or somethings, otherwise I can’t handle the fiber. As a result I had a very upset stomach and had to resort to dry cereal and 2 crackers with cottage cheese for snack to calm it down .

Then I went out for the afternoon and by the time I got home I was starving – so I perfected the art of the 5 step “under a minute because I’m ready to eat my arm off” dinner prep:

Step 1- Open frige and all leftover containers.

Step 2 – Pull out grain/protein source/fresh veggie

Step 3 – Chop veggie, dump everything in the bowl and add spices/sauces

Step 4 – Take a bite and hope it tastes good (even if it doesn’t look that way)

Step 5 – Eat – regardless of weather it tastes good or not (usually at this point you’re too hungry to care anyhow).

I may have missed the mark in presentation today – but it still tasted good

Brown rice, lentils and chopped carrots (I think there also might have been a sauted mushroom hidden in there somewhere)

Followed shortly by an apple.

And dessert (counldn’t decide between dark chocolate and almonds – so I had a bit of both 😉 )

To this day I don’t understand how some food bloggers ALWAYS manage to make their food look pretty AND keep up with normal life. Most of the time I’m just hungry, so I don’t care how good my food looks as long as it tastes good (just in case you haven’t noticed yet). Although when I cook for other people I usually try to make the food look appetizing – it’s part of love then (and when I cook for someone else there’s always love involved 😀 )

When you cook for yourself do you care more about flavour or presentation?

Do you ever cook for others?

13 comments

  1. Flavour all the way. I go by the rule that if it looks too pretty, I don’t wanna eat it. The uglier, the better 😉

    Your finger in the blender is something that NIGHTMARES are made of!!! I hope it heals up nicely ❤

    xxx

  2. Yikes! I hope your finger heals quickly. 😦

    Your meals don’t look too “ugly”! For instance, that tomato mozzarella salad loos divine! 🙂 I def. prefer flavor over presentation, although it can be fun to make dishes look pretty!

  3. I had the exact same kind of “I’m starving feed me NOW” dinner tonight – polished off two more leftover containers and the last of my bagels. Not too bad in the taste department either!
    I’m with you on the presentation thing too – I have no clue how you can have the patience to perfectly shoot your food. If it’s warm I don’t want to have to microwave it because I was taking a picture of it. When I cook for others I usually just take a few point-and-shoots and then dig in.

    I hope your finger is all right and nothing too serious happened! Get well soon. 😉

  4. i totally would have done that too and had dark chocolate with almonds WITH a side of almonds too 🙂 hehe

    im all about flavour and colour when i cook.. i like them to go hand in hand. but if i had to choose, its the taste that matters…unless i know i want to post something online, then i worry more about the presentation 😉

    xoxo

  5. Lentils, brown rice and carrots are one of my fave mictures:) I usually don´t care that much about how pretty my pictures look (i,e, I can´t make them look good :). I am ok if it tastes good to me! I cook for others when I am back home with my family – there I cook for my dad. When being in Prague, I cook mostly only for myself and on a rare occasions I make a dinner for my roommates or for my sis…But even then I have the rule:”If it tastes good, it is good, no matter how it looks like”. I like your 5 steps plan, especially the step nr.5:) I hope your mood is getting better and better and your apetite is on the rise 🙂

  6. 😉 mozarrela. Sorry to hear about your finger…kitchen appliances can be so cruel sometimes. 😉

    Chocolate and almonds are my favourite snack at the moment! It’s the best of both worlds!

    I don’t usually eat food that looks nice to start with so, not much point messing around trying to make it look a tiny bit presentable – I rely on my camera to make the best of it. :-0 I like the whole “thrown together” look anyway. ‘TIs charming. xxx

  7. 😉 mozzarella. Sorry to hear about your finger…kitchen appliances can be so cruel sometimes. 😉

    Chocolate and almonds are my favourite snack at the moment! It’s the best of both worlds!

    I don’t usually eat food that looks nice to start with so, not much point messing around trying to make it look a tiny bit presentable – I rely on my camera to make the best of it. :-0 I like the whole “thrown together” look anyway. ‘TIs charming. xxx

  8. Step 5 – Eat – regardless of weather it tastes good or not (usually at this point you’re too hungry to care anyhow). <- Ahh, the dreaded step 5…happens all the time! Of course at this point, most of the time, my plate is clean before I even have a chance to think about how it tastes! Haha!

    Sorry about your finger…the things we do for nut butter!! 😉 Totally sounds like something that would happen to me!

  9. See thats where you’re wrong =) Your food does look pretty! It looks real and natural and fresh and just absolutely lovely =) so what if it isnt prepped out like a cookbook cover? it looks awesome and i bet it taste even better ❤ true story!

    I love how you eat a little bit of everything! sooo healthy and perfecto! ❤ Happy WIAW gorgeous!

  10. Hi, I just found your blog and I like what I’ve seen so far.
    I don’t understand food bloggers keeping their food looking good either. I just want to eat it. I don’t think I could ever post everything I eat. I can’t take the time to shoot a photo of it before I eat it.
    I care more about it tasting good. Then it can look good, but it can’t look good and taste terrible.


Leave a Reply

