Things I learned

I love my family. Seriously!

I used to resent being the oldest of 7 siblings – it’s actually a lot of work. You’re always the one getting blamed for messes, accidents and everything else under the sun (except maybe world hunger :P). You get all the responsibility, and hardly any credit. While all the relatives ooh and ahh over the newest arrival you get stuck on diaper duty (a.k.a rinsing out cloth diapers – because my parents were economical like that).

I used to wish I was the only child, that I could be selfish and have all the attention to myself. I wished I could be free to do as I like and go as I please without an annoying brother and sister tagging along. I wished that I knew the meaning of the word privacy and quiet.

Do I still wish that, no way! I’ve grown up to realize that everything worth something costs something and there are things money could never buy. Memories that last a lifetime are worth far more then a responsibility free life. I can now say that I truly and deeply love each of my family members – even though they drive me crazy 90% of the time. It’s all part of the charm.

Today I spent the day with these two munchkins. They usually go to kindergarden but they were stuck at home with me today because they weren’t feeling too well. I enjoyed (almost) every minute of it.

Kids teach you so much if you’ll only stop long enough to learn:

Don’t be afraid to be true to yourself – I asked my little brother what he wanted to be when he grew up. The quick reply was “A guy who bonks other bad guys over the head” (alright, if you say so)

Status isn’t everything – according to my brothers officers are guys who work in an office 😉

Sharing is life’s biggest joy.

If you want to pig out – go for it!

(I think a fact worth mentioning is that what they are “pigging out” on is the leftovers of my almond butter spread – I raised them well ;))

Sleep is underrated

Eat lots of apples – they’re tasty!

Pizza > salad (no matter how good the aforementioned salad was)

Yesterday’s salad (I made some for the whole family) a white bean, cucumber, pea and corn salad). This picture SOOO doesn’t do it justice

                                                                       (Today’s dinner – yeah this was more popular. But there were no leftovers of either)

Never forget to smile – it makes you look cute.

What’s something you learned recently?

6 comments

  1. Oh, I love this! You are so cute and your brothers as well 🙂 Being the eldest of 7 children must be hard, but it is also awesome seeing your sieblings grow up and being here for them, as a support, a helping hand, an inspiration..
    And I agree with this: eat lots of apples. All the time! 🙂

  2. Well, I learned that I REALLY like honeydew melon (even when it’s not frozen!) and my mom dislikes cilantro.

    I don’t think I’d ever want to change being an only child, but I can see where having siblings would have it’s pros. White bean, pea, cucumber and corn, eh? I happen to have those four ingredients on hand and I might have to go make a spoonful of it to see what it’s like… 😛

  3. Seriously, you have adorable siblings. I have one younger sister and I wouldn’t trade her for anything (well maybe a puppy…;)

    One thing I’ve learned. but am still trying to take to heart, is that worrying doesn’t get me anywhere. So I might as well enjoy each moment as it comes!

  4. Awww…they are so cute. I have a younger brother and I love that every time I go home at the end of term, he’s more grown up and mature. It’s so interesting to watch them develop and properly become their own person.

    I’ve learnt very recently that I’m ready to go home! 🙂

  5. Aw, that’s so cute that your brotheres are licking off the almond butter. They sure have good tastes.

    I learned that going back to high school next year is going to be reeeally fun.

  6. Aww your brothers are so cute! I can’t imagine have 7 younger siblings! I have two older brothers and that’s enough 😛

    xxx


Leave a Reply

