I’m leaving on a jet plane…..

Unfortunately that’s not true. Instead of reaching my destination in 20 minutes like I would on a jet plane, I am dreading eagerly looking forward to a 12+ hour drive up to the coast to visit my relatives (yah, the same ones I was supposed to visit on Easter).

I actually like travelling. I like long bus/car rides because my mind always provides me with great entertainment 😛 I think (more than I should) read, plan and just generally relax. Unfortunately being sandwiched in a van with 8 other people – 6 of which are under the age of 16 doesn’t afford me the same luxury.

So what do I get to look forward to? A whole lot of – “Are we there yet?”; “I’m hungry!”; “I need to go pee!”; “SO-and-so stole my chips!” along with the occasional threat from my parents that we’re going to turn the car around and drive back home, or ditch the offending member at the nearest gas station. I always wonder why my parents keep making these threats, especially because by the age of 6 I had figured out that they weren’t true. But old habits die hard I suppose….

In short tomorrow will involve waking up at 3:30 , getting in a car and mentally bracing myself for the journey ahead.

In all honesty just thinking about it is exhausting.

Maybe that’s just because I had a pretty exhausting day.

I started off my morning bright and early at 7:00 am. For most people this isn’t TOO bright and early, but considering I fell asleep at 1:00 AM – this was early. Thankfully I could allow myself a few minutes relaxing in my bed, because breakfast was already ready.

Plain apples and cinnamon…

Tsh, I’d have to be some kind of a freak to get fueled for the day off of just that (a piece of fruit isn’t enough for breakfast folks!) That’s why underneath the apples there was a secret stash of whole grains and protein

Overnight oats! A chopped apple mixed with 1/2 cup oats and 3/4 cup yogurt with a little water or milk to thin it out. Oh and there’s a dried fig hiding in there as well – very delicious when left to soak over night – gets all plump and juicy.

Now that the weather is heating up these are totally my go-to breakfast meal – although today they weren’t as amazing as usual because it was cold.

That is the one downside to overnight oats – you have to predict the night before if you’ll want them in the morning.

This was a yummy one - fruit salad overnight oats with strawberries, bananas and peach

So much uglier mixed up 😛

The rest of the morning was spent I packing my personal belongings and food stuff. We’ll be staying at my relatives who are known  to be strictly carnivores so I’m bringing along a few packs of beans, some grains (brown rice and barley) and oats of course (they have a class all on their own :P). As I always say – better have it and not need it then need it and not have it. Also it’s always easier on them if we bring some of our own food – and being vegetarian is pretty economical.

After packing, cleaning and lunch I went out shoe shopping. I’m not the type of girl that goes shopping every weekend with her friends – to be honest I find shopping a little frustrating as I rarely find something I really like. So I was kind of sceptical going out today, but I actually found something that I liked , that fit me comfortable, that were within my price range. In short – I was happy and considered it a successful venture – something that rarely happens.

The shoes previously mentioned - I was looking for something versatile - comfortable yet nice looking the same time. And I think I walked away with just that.

After I got home there were all the last minute trip details to take care of – packing the food for the actual trip (sandwiches and snacks), cleaning the house, making sure nothing was forgotten (I’m 100% sure that there was :P) and all that jazz. I pre-made some oatmeal for tomorrows breakfast – as eating sandwiches 3 meals in a row gets pretty boring. Although I have some delicious hummus/mango chutney sandwiches to look forward to, and some delicious granola bars.

I never buy granola bars because all the commonly available ones are chock full of sugar and preservatives, and any other alternatives are very expensive. But I do enjoy having a quick snack to grab when needed, so that’s when these babies come in handy.

I’ve made these oatmeal bars twice and I’ve loved them both times. First time I made them following the recipe and second time I veganized them. Both worked well and resulted in a dense, chewy, muffin like bar.

Here’s my slightly modified recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped almonds
  • 1/3 – cup chopped dried figs (all I had on hand)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1.25 cups non-dairy milk
  • 1 flax egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 ripe banana mashed
  • 1/2 ripe banana cut into chunks.

Mash banana and make your flax egg (1 tbsp of flax + 2 tbsp water). Set aside. Mix all your dry ingredients together (nuts, figs, chopped banana chunks ,oats, cinnamon, salt). In a separate container combine your flax egg, mashed banana, vanilla and non-dairy milk. Add wet into dry and mix till well combined. Bake at 350* for 40- 50 minutes (depending on your oven. Cool for 20 minutes (this step is crucial if you want the bars to stay together) and cut into pieces. Store in fridge for up to a week or freeze and defrost as needed.

I love the addition of banana to these bars as it makes them extra sweet and chewy. They are filling and portable so they make the perfect travel snack. I’m really looking forward to enjoying these tomorrow.

Anyhow my day ended around 8:00 with some blog reading and a glass of beer. This is very weird because normally I truly despise beer. But my friend gave me a raspberry/chili flavoured beer and told me to try it. And I actually really enjoyed it. It’s totally a girly drink , although personally that fact doesn’t really bother me.

I know, I know - it doesn't look or taste a thing like beer. It's why I like it 😉

Alright I’m off to sleep – got a big day  ahead. See you all in a bit with some new post ideas and hopefully a lot of pictures. And keep me in your thoughts as I travel tomorrow 😀 .

Do you like long trips? 

What’s your favorite travel snack?

3 comments

  1. I LOVE car trips too. I love just sitting there listening to my music whilst watching the ever changing scenery outside. I just absolutely love it! Shame for those that get car sick though.

    I think it’s about time I gave overnight oats another try. The last time I had them I was completely disgusted but I really want to like them because they look so yummy! *fingers crossed*

    Have fun on your trip!!!

    xxx

  2. I don’t mind car trips very much simply because I look forward to getting to the destination, and at least trying to enjoy the ride there. I can totally sympathize with your trip since I’ve driven to New York and back (12+ hours) twice already this year for camp and college trips. I hope you’re having a wonderful trip there right now! Make sure to sleep a TON (it makes the time go by faster). Your oatmeal bars look like the perfect packable snack. I tend to bring things like raw veggies, fruit, steamed veggies, and lots of nuts. I also like to bring crackers or some kind of puffed grain for when I feel munchy.


Leave a Reply

