It’s not a war.

Why is it that we act as if we are constantly at war with our bodies? Why is it that we push and struggle and fight against what our bodies really want. We tell ourselves we want to exercise, when what we really need is a hot bath or a nap. We tell ourselves we want salad when all we want is an ice-cream. It’s like we’re locked in a constant battle, and if we let up our guard for just an instant, we will turn into some obese, sickly, weak person. If we dare to actually give into our cravings and do what we really want we feel as if the world will come to the end, and we have failed.

But what exactly are we failing at? Failing at proving to ourselves that we have self control? You already know that you do. You exercise self control when you feel like punching your boss in the face when you’re having a bad day at work. You prove your ability to control you emotions when you just smile politely at your aunts meaningless gossip, instead of walking away. If we were controlled soley by our impulses, society as we know it could not function. Why do we need to prove it to ourselves in this other way?

Your body was not designed to make you fat, or unhealthy. If it was, people would have died out a long time ago. In distant times past there were no diets, no strict exercise regimes people had to follow. People just ate what they needed to survive, lived off their land and went about their lives. And dare I say that they were healthier back then than we are now. It’s because they were at peace with their bodies. They weren’t looking for ways to “perfect it” or make it better. They just went about their lives, probably hardly giving it a second thought.

Do you really think they care how many calories they ate at dinner?

How the world has changed! In todays world it’s all about self betterment.. With all the advances being made in science and technology it’s all about trying to make a good thing even better. Sadly we tend to treat our bodies like a gadget – something we have to keep on “improving”. We have to try this “upgrade” ( I.e exercise or diet regime) so that we can keep up with everyone else. And if we were to actually just let go and be content with what we have – why the world might just come tumbling around us!

Imagine you were just to let go and really listen 100% to what your body wants. What if you were to have a row of chocolate for snack, as opposed to an apple? And what if you were to actually take a nap instead of pushing yourself on the elliptical?  Would that really be wrong?

What if you were to actually listen to this guy?

I’m not advocating eating junk or having a sedentary lifestyle. Our bodies are made to be fueled properly and to have some form of activity. And I believe that if you’ve already developed good habits along these lines, you don’t have to worry. Your body will literally crave exercise after some time. That greasy cheeseburger won’t look appealing to you anymore, because you know what real food tastes like. But if your body is tired, or hungry – it’s trying to tell you something. You don’t need to fight those feelings.

Today I was ravenously hungry all day long. I woke up starving and after 2 hours after a hearty breakfast I was hungry again. At first I tried to “ward off the hunger” drinking water because I was afraid I was mistaking hunger for thirst, eating a small snack to hold me though till the next meal. But after a while the futility of it all hit me. Why am I punishing myself like this? Why am I fighting my body? Why can’t I just give it and do what I know is best.

So I ate about 4 snacks today, and 3 large meals. And I’m ok with that. Because the war with my body is over, and I’m declaring a peace treaty. And I know in the end we will both get what we want.

6 comments

  1. I love this post!!! So inspirational and so true! I’m proud of you for listening to your body- that takes strength, and it is going to bring you that much closer to full recovery! I have seen so much growth through your writing since I started reading your previous blog, Smiling Through Tears. Your journey is a very inspirational one- keep up the awesome work, and thank you for sharing it with us! ❤

  2. Awesome post! “But what exactly are we failing at? Failing at proving to ourselves that we have self control? You already know that you do.” That is a great quote. You are so smart and insightful, girly.
    BTW, thank you for the award!!! I will be posting soon. 🙂

  3. I LOVELOVELOVE YOUR BLOG!!
    Thank you so much for this post. You are right in that it is pointless to fight what we really want. That doesn’t show self-discipline any more than anything else we do in our lives. In fact it is just sick because we are depriving ourselves.

    Anyway, I’m proud of you for eating those 3 meals & snacks! That is awesome. For some reason ED was yelling at me earlier when I was hungry.. I told it to shut up and kept drinking more water.. But the thing is, I can’t concentrate on anything when I know I need food. It’s psychological. I know that I’m doing my body harm. So I grabbed some popcorn, and I’m feeling a little better.

    Thanks for always having inspiring posts. It’s great to know that even you struggle, yet you persevere and go on with your life, kicking ED butt! Keep it up 🙂

  4. Thank you for your amazing post. I was getting kind of sick of myself for eating so much (acting on my intuition to eat more actually), and it was such an encouragement to see how you’re okay with eating what you think you need. Makes me feel so much better that I’m not alone in this. (:

    Take care girl!


Leave a Reply

