Healthy fats – pt 2

So today’s post will be short ‘n’ sweet as I am leaving on a trip later on today. I’m actually going to see my relatives for Easter and they 😦 don’t have internet, so I won’t be on here for a little under a week.

But I will be back – hopefully with a lot of pictures and interesting topics to write about – so don’t leave me just yet 😛

When I was thinking about writing my last post a certain person came to my mind. This person really inspired me – not only through her incredible story of how she overcame her ED’s, but also because of the cool, fun foods she indulges in on a regular basis. In fact she was one of the bloggers who inspired me to try to incorporate more fats into my diet, and I’m so glad she did. Anyhow I asked her to answer a few quiestions on the subject and she agreed :)!

And so I present my “mystery person” Carrie from Moves ‘n’ Munchies 


Q: Did you ever believe (like a lot of people still do) that fats were „bad” and that you should eat as little of them as possible?

A: YES- when I was struggling with my ED for many years fats were ‘bad’ in my book. I avoided them like the plague- apart from the occasional peanut butter sandwich… Other than that, it was low-fat or reduced fat everything for me.

Q: Did you have a hard time eating fats after your ED? If so how did you overcome that fear?

A: It really wasn’t until I started educating myself with health articles that I discovered how fat was essential and necessary in our diets… I read about it from about 1000 sources and by that point I was convinced it was good for me. I also talked about it when my nutritionist and she said it was essential that I include it into my diet. I just had to pull another “EFF you ED!” and went for it. 

Q:What’s your favorite source of healthy fats?

A: NUTS, nut butters and avocado! Particularly walnuts, cashews, pecans, almond butter and peanut butter! If anyone reads my blog they will see nuts or nut butters with about every meal!

Q: I personally find that have to eat a serving of fats with every major meal to stay satiated for a longer amount of time – are you the same?

A: YES! I always have a serving of fat in my meals.. carbs, fats and proteins=a complete meal… and it keeps me satisfied and happy!

Q:Which is more of a staple in your diet – nuts or nut butters?

A: AHHH- oh my gosh… such a tough question!!!!!! I have at least two servings of each everyday, but most of the time I get about 3-4 spoonfuls of peanut butter a day so I guess I would have to say nut butter.

 Q:What positive changes have you noticed in your body since you started including more healthy fats into your diet? 

A: My hair is SO SMOOTH and silky- like amazing! I love just running my fingers through it-haha! I also have much more energy, I feel satisfied for longer after meals and snacks and I don’t know if this is related to fats or veganism or my exercise routine but my body is much more toned!

 Q: Any tips for people who still struggle with the concept of fats being healthy?

A:Fat= food.. fat does not equal overweight… I hate how people use the term fat for overweight people. Fat is a food group just like protein and carbs.. so are you saying that if you don’t eat fat then you wont eat protein or carbs- because they are all in the same category! And if you are worried that you will get fat by eating fat then why are all those ‘flat belly foods’ that you see all over the internet composed of fat sources (peanut butter, almonds, avocado, sunflower seeds etc..).. just a little ‘fat for thought!’ And from personal experience… I get around 30-35% of my daily calories from fat and I am not fat… in fact.. I look even more slim!

(Thanks again Carrie for agreeing to do this – you rock!)

Moving on, I know when I first started wanting to encorporate healthy fats into my diet I didn’t quite know where to start. Ok there’s cooking with oil – but what else. I wasn’t even sure I liked nuts, avocados and other such things because I hadn’t eaten them in so long. Thankfully though after a few trial and error sessions I pretty much disovered what I do and don’t like – but I still experiment with great results. But just in case you’re feeling like me and don’t really know where to start, here are some ideas on how to incorporate more healthy fats into your diet.

  1. Snack on trail mixes. Trail mixes make great snacks because they’re small and portable, and if you make your own you can customize it according to your likes/dislikes. 
  2. Add avocado, nuts and seeds to your salad. They provide extra flavor and staying power and turn your “light salad” into a full and complete meal.
  3. Dress your salad – the added fat actually aids in vitamin absorption and brings out the flavor. My favorites are olive oil or tahini dressings , but the options out there are almost limitless.
  4. Add a spoonful of nut butter to your morning oats, or in your smoothie. In addition to being a great way to start off you day nutrition-wise it brings a great flavor to both of these foods.
  5. Add nuts and seeds to veggie stir fries.
  6. Snack on apples and almond butter, carrot sticks and peanut butter, or just a plain PB n jelly works well too 🙂
  7. Try out some desert recipies with nut butters (or avocado if you’re feeling daring), you won’t be disappointed !

      

I’ve tried a various combination of nuts and nut butters with different foods – and here are my favorites recently
  • Roasted sunflower seeds and chickpeas
  • salty peanuts and figs
  • almonds and figs
  • walnuts and lentils and brown rice

  • almond butter and banana
  • apples and walnuts
  • avocado and roasted chickpeas
I also have a secret confession to make (and I might just lose readers over this, but i HAVE to say it) I don’t like peanut butter. Shocking, I know, after so many bloggers rave about it, but I tried it and I don’t like it. So if there’s a combination you try that doesn’t work for you, don’t give up! Just find something that does and stick with it!
And try making my raw almond banana butter while you’re at it 😛
What’s your favorite nut butter / nut combination (other then banana’s and peanut butter :P)?

9 comments

  1. oh yay! it looks great!! im so happy you asked me to be featured 😀 😀
    your tips are great for others who want to start getting some more fat! im currently eating nut nutter in my oats as I type 😀
    ahh you don tlike peanut butter!?!? tis okay… there are so many nut butters out there to enjoy 😀

  2. Oh don’t worry I don’t like peanut butter either!!!! I’m all about the almond butter. I recently made my own almond butter and it’s amaaaaaaze!!! My favourite sources of fat are yoghurt, butter, avocado and coconut oil. I ❤ fat 🙂
    xxx

  3. This is a great set of posts! I’m recovering from anorexia now and definitely am trying to get over the “fat = gain weight” aspect of it. That said, I’m working my way through nut butter jars and feel better than ever!! As for my favorites, I can honestly say that I’ll eat soy nut butter or sunflower seed butter on anything. ANYTHING 🙂

  4. Fats are sooo important. They are brain fuel! Another good thing to try is mixing a little ground flaxseed into yogurt or oatmeal. I have some every morning. 🙂
    I do like peanut butter, but I recently bought cashew butter (on sale!!) and I’m really enjoying it.

    Have a good Easter!

  5. I loved both of your posts on healthy fats… I’m currently in the stage where I KNOW fats are good for me and I”m incorporating them more and more but still kind of struggling. I think my major problem is that they hvae more calories than other stuff, and I tend to struggle with choosing the calorically cheapest option, but I”m doing better. They’re definitely HIGHLY necessary for optimal functioning of various parts of the body and in particular the brain 🙂

    good stuff! you go girls 🙂

    n

    • It was hard for me to deal with the calorie side of eating healthy fats as well. But I’ve found that I’m a lot less hungry when I include them in my diet in some form, so I actually end up eating less later on. And so I get the health benefits and I’m pretty sure the calories stay about the same (I don’t count them).
      Thanks for stopping by and I hope you are able to enjoy them more and more as time goes on.

  6. Fat is where it’s at.
    Hah.
    Seriously …I just recalled how horrified I was of olive oil on ANYTHING and now I go through bottles of it in like two weeks.
    HOORAY HUMMUS!!!


Leave a Reply

