Goals and plans.

Do you ever get those days when you feel like there’s no sense to anything you do? You feel like everything in the day to day routine that you engage in is pointless and meaningless. If you don’t – lucky you. But I’m more inclined to think that most people get caught up in the monotony of a routine and end up feeling less then inspired at the end of the day.

I had one of those days yeasterday. I was feeling under-the-weather, and ended up staying in the house for most of the day. Me+in the house for a long time = extreme case of cabin fever. In any case I got into one of these negative moods  and started feeling like there was no sense to anything I was doing, and everything was just pointless. This wasn’t depression, per se, but pretty close. I think it was more frustration then anything else.

I’m at a very particular place in my life right now, kind of an “in between zone”. The  best way I can describe it is waiting in a terminal for your next flight. You are so psyched up about your trip, but you just have to wait there and twiddle your thumbs till it’s time to board the plane. And at that moment you wish with everything inside you that it could all be over, and that you could just get on with your trip already. Well, that’s where I am at the moment. I hoping to get into university at the beginning of next academic year, but the enrollment process doesn’t start till May. Work is very hard to come by at this point, so I am currently unemployed. So let’s just say I’m not in the most exiting situation right now. I live in a very small town, which also isn’t my preference, but it’s the only available option at the moment.

In a way it’s not that bad, and others have it much worse. I have a roof over my head, good food to eat, and a loving family nearby that supports me. That’s much more then some other people can say. But still, there are days I lose sight of the big picture.

But then I realized there was no use moping about what I can’t do and time to start focusing on what I CAN do. It was time to take actions and plan some definite steps to get me where I want to go. And nothing is better motivation then making some goals and define plans to get you headed in the right direction.

Goal no. 1 – Get a drivers license ( already got started on this one – at the moment means studying reaaaaly hard, because I have my exam coming up soon, yikes)

Goal no.2 -Get into university (I can’t do much about this at the moment, but what I will do is devote minimum 1 hour each day to studying, so my brain doesn’t get to rusty. Plus, biochemistry never was my strong suit:P)

Goal no 3. – Get a job (I’ve already started on this one too, but I’ve gotta keep going – write a few more CV’s and keep my eyes open for any and all potential possibilities)

Goal no 4. – Start dancing again (dancing used to be a HUGE part of my life, and I can’t believe I’ve stopped cold turkey for over a year , time to get my groove on :P)

Goal no 5. – Get stronger and healthier (this will probably mean getting some more meat on my bones, keeping up with an active lifestyle and contiuing to listen to my body)

Ok, that’s enough yacking from me. Stay tuned for an upcoming post on how my goals helped me move forward in my recovery.

And remember – When life hands you lemons make lemonade and find someone else who life handed vodka to, and have a party!!!

Yeah, that is so totally my sexy party face 😉

 

Do you ever have days like the one I described? How do you work though them?

What’s your most recent goal?

 

7 comments

  1. I know just what you mean. Being at home all day doing my schoolwork leaves me feeling that way too. Like there’s no point in anything. For me at least, it’s a mixture of boredom, lonliness, and sadness/depression. Though as soon as I leave for ballet it usually shakes off.
    I love your goals; they seem very achievable. I know you will do well with everything! And I LOVE all the pictures you post. You are absolutely stunning!

    • I’m planning on studying to become a dietitian. Of course being in Europe the whole process of that is a little bit different then the States or UK (from what I understand) which is why I’m stuck with a sort of awkward situation at the moment.

      What are you studying at the moment?

  2. Hi there! I know that I have definitely had many days like you described, although for the past 5 years I have been a full-time college student, with one year left to go until I complete my Master’s degree. Sooo…I rarely have a moment to sit and think about any other goal aside from graduating! However, I’ve been thinking lately about getting the Ph D. I’ve always wanted to get – however, I am not sure how I would fit it into my life and if I want to have the stresses of school in my life for the next 5-7+ years after already being in school for so long. I feel like if I don’t start it within a year or so after graduating, I will be putting off and ultimately failing to pursue my dream of getting this degree – however, I’m not sure I could mentally survive any more school for at least awhile! So, as you can see from my ramblings, that I have a lot of mixed thoughts that create a lot of anxiety for me.

    One thing that sounds cliche, but is really motivating and satisfying is volunteering somewhere. This doesn’t necessarily mean that you have to work one-on-one with people – My mother volunteers weekly at the office at our local Red Cross and answers phone calls and puts together mailings. My little sister bakes cookies for a charity called Aid For Friends that delivers food from food pantries and freezers in our area to the sick or elderly in our community who are home bound. Really, just breaking up the monotony of your day or your week can be really refreshing and might even inspire you to do more! 🙂 Hope this helps!
    – Alli


Leave a Reply

