Studying and how to deal with stress.

I have a confession to make…

I love studying 🙂

I like learning new things,  and I am interested in most subjects (accounting and bookkeeping being one of the few exceptions). I like expanding my world-view and becoming more knowledgeable about various topics. I think it’s important for us to understand the world around us, especially things we are passionate about.

I am passionate about healthy living and eating and I firmly believe that a lot of illness and diseases are caused simply by an unhealthy lifestyle. Some people are uneducated and simply don’t know any better, other’s are too lazy. But whatever the case may be I want to be able to do my part to make a difference and help others find a balance in their lives, just as now I am finding a balance in mine.

So I’ve decided to study to become an RD. I’ve already filed my application to the university, although I will only find out if I am accepted by May. However, till then I’m trying to study in my free time, in order to hopefully eliminate some of the stress that will come once I start doing it full-time.

 

Now I have a question for all of you readers: how do you deal with stress? People are constantly telling me horror stories about how much pressure is on students in universities, some even doubt I will be able to cope with it.

I will admit it, I am prone to stress. I am highly idealistic so from primary all the way to High School I strived for straight A’s. Not that wanting to have good grades is a bad thing in itself, but if for whatever reason I was unable to reach my expectations I was totally and utterly crushed. B’s simply weren’t good enough, it had to be an A. That mentality (obviously) will have to change because I know I won’t be able to deal with that kind of pressure. I know by thinking that way I’m basically setting myself up for failure because no one can be perfect 100% of the time. Especially if I want to have some kind of life in the mean time – which I most definitely do. I think part of a healthy and happy life is balancing out both work and fun, because as they say “too much of a good thing is a bad thing”

Anyhow, back to stress coping mechanisms. I’ve found that some of the things that work for me are:

  • Taking a walk in nature. Sometimes a change of scenery is just what you need to clear your brain and give you a fresh outlook on things.

 

  • Yoga (I use this one a lot these days). I don’t know why or how, but it’s something that never fails to relax or de-stress me if I’m feeling really tense or uptight about something.

  • Running or cardio exercise. Other times I feel the need to just burn some of that negative energy. A 15 -20 minute run isn’t the end of the world when I’m pressed for time, but it does wonders for my sanity.

  • Writing, painting or drawing. Channeling all that negative, tense energy into something productive.

  • A night out with friends. When all else fails PARTY!!! Probably not recommended if you have an early morning exam, but if you know you can sleep in the next day – why not. Life is too short to spend worrying all the time – go out and enjoy it.

 

 

If you are currently studying: how do you deal with the stresses of student life? Any tips for me?

If you’re not studying, how do you deal with stress in general?

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. I’m studying. A lot in this period (I hope to graduate in October). And difficult subject which I don’t love (finance and so on). I really have an issue with stress dealing, since like you I’m really stress prone and I always want to give 100%.

    In these three years of college if discovered some tricks that works for me:
    – Plan the study time, decide how much time you are going to study that day and stick with it, divide the pages to study in days and make schemes so you won’t go crazy to revise the day before the exam

    – get informed really works for me, I try to find more information as possible about the exam, if it’s oral or written, likely questions and so on, so I’m not completely in the dark and I know where to insist in my preparation

    – when the stress reach dangerous levels, I bake! Seriously, baking and cooking are serious stress defeated mechanism for me (as talking to a friend!)

    Good luck with that application anyway, I have to send mine in these days =)

  2. I think we’re a lot alike about some of the things you’ve mentioned. I love to learn, but not math (hate!) or chemistry. I especially love psychology, sociology, and nutrition, as well as grammar and writing. I am also a perfectionist, and I think that in part led to my ED. I remember saying to my friends several time’s “I failed” and they’d say, “what grade did you get?” I’d say, “89,” and they’d reply, “That’s a high B, practically and A, not a fail. What are you talking about?” But to me, everything less than A was an F and I was a failure. What an awful mentality, huh?

    For me, when I’m stressed, I’ll blog, cry, or re-organize something – my desk, the fridge or pantry, closet. It always helps me! 🙂

  3. I love studying too 🙂 Sometimes I hate to admit it when everyone around me is so negative about having to hit the books.. but I guess I am just a nerd at heart 🙂

    How do I deal with stress? Well… Having struggled with an eating disorder, I obviously have a history of dealing with stress by manipulating my food intake, BUT I am definitely trying to change that. Now I deal by taking a hot bath, YOGA, writing, or listening to music.

    DON’T doubt yourself. I was so scared when I first came here to university, and I had no idea how I was going to cope. It wasn’t easy, and I definitely didn’t always make the right choices, but I survived the first few months and I finally feel like I have a handle on things. Think of your embarking on university as another field of study: you have to do it to learn how to do it right 😉

  4. I can really relate to this post. I’m studying right now and I’m definintely one of those straight A people. I’m trying to get past it though, because, like you, I’ve realized that the stress is not worth it. Honestly, in 10 years does it really matter if I got A’s or B’s or even C’s? Not really – what matters is that I was able to really learn what I needed, take care of myself, and actually have FUN!

    Having an activity that you love always helps with stress. For me, ice skating really lets me let go and just be free from everything for a little while. I also like to bake, read (something fun and mindless, not the news), listen to music, play with my cats…all sorts of things, really.

    School is certainly stressful and challenging, but I know you will do great. When it seems really hard, just keep pushing through. It’s kinda like recovery – it gets better and is so worth it in the end.

  5. How do I deal with stresses of student life? I tend to just go with the flow. I’ve never been a straight A student. I never really started taking school seriously until I was 15 and that was only because I had to. I regret not paying attention in the past but I can only make up for it now. My tip is just do the best that you can do. After all, we can only do our best.

    xxx

  6. Ahh studying can be so stressful for me. I love learning though. I like studying with other people in my classes, it keeps me motivated and focused. I also found doing a lil bit of studying a day (if you need to memorize) is really helpful. My boyfriends swears by 15 min studying intervals and he always get’s A’s on every single test.

    –Dana xo


Leave a Reply

