What to eat when you don’t know what to eat.

Hey guys.

A big thank you to those of you who commented on my last post. It’s often hard for me to come out there and say exactly what I’m going through without the feeling I’m going to be judged/people with think I’m a wuss and need to get over it/people not wanting to read about my problems. So all your support has been super appreciated.

One plus of the somewhat unpleasent experience of having to deal with stomach issues on a day to day basis is that it makes you a whole lot more flexible and forces you to try and learn new things, If you have a food intolerance , digestive health problems or are recovering from an ED, you might be able to relate to this somewhat.  Especially on days that it’s hard to get anything down, you learn to just go with the flow and do whatever feels good at the time – weather your mind agrees or not.

Here’s some things I learned through the days I struggled with eating and finding what works for me.

-  Have a plan, but don’t be set on it.  On days when there’s just a few “safe foods” I can eat to prevent a flare – I try to make sure that I have those foods in the house. I pre-cook the things I need to pre-cook and try to stay “on top of things” food wise.  But when push comes to shove if instead of oatmeal I’m craving ice-cream I’ll just listen to my body

 

Was on a banana and yogurt diet for a day (couldn’t handle anything else). The above cup is full fat yogurt with pumpkin seeds and banana’s

A cereal yogurt/cottage cheese cup also made it in there somewhere. Topped with a bit of cherry jam

- Don’t be fancy. I can’t remember the last time I ate something super complicated that had a million and half ingredients in it. Most of my food is very simple – just a few basic ingredients put together and on a plate. And the whakier my stomach gets – the fewer ingredients there are. But in the end food is food and if you can eat it – it’s bound to be doing you some good. Some days I just repeat the same meals over and over again – because it’s what’s working for me right now. Might not be most popular idea out there, but if I feel good doing it – I’m gonna go for it.

 

That would be chicken, rice, and boiled carrots. First time I’m eating meat in a LONG time, but I was desperate for ANY protein my body could handle and this seemed to be doing the job pretty ok.

Sometimes simplicity is best – quark, cherry jam, two wasa crackers and an apple.

 

- Don’t make rules. If you’re struggling to eat anything the worst thing you can do is obsess about food groups and getting the “perfect diet”. If you manage to get the right ratio of vegetables, fats, carbs and protein – good for you. But if not – it’s ok! Your body doesn’t know the difference between the energy obtained from a banana or massive salad, or a boiled egg. In essence when it brakes down – it’s all energy that your body uses. So don’t freak out about it. Same with junk food. Some days I have an easier time eating “junk food” then I do real food. And what do I do – I roll with it. Because it’s all fuel and even if it’s not 100% nutritious – at least it’s something.

Been enjoying quite a bit of dessert every everning – it’s when my stomach seems to handle it the best. Not going to keep up this habit forever, but since right now I need to gain weight – keep it coming :)

- Take it easy. I know for me it helps when I can eat in a calm, unstressed enviroment , when I can take time to savor and enjoy my meal. It’s not always possible – but if eating is difficult for you anyway – you might consider trying something like this.

- Remember that this too will pass. Some days I have to chant this to myself like a mantra , because I’m just so sick of it. But I keep reminding myself that this is a stage that will pass sooner or later and I will eventually find out what works for me.

- Don’t give up. So many days I just want to throw in the towel and not eat at all because everything I eat is jacking up my system. But that is the most counterproductive thing to do, because in order for my body to run it needs energy. So no matter how painful, how hard or unpleasent I push and fight through. I make mistakes, I fall, but I get up and keep going

Have you ever struggled with stomach issues, severe food intolerance or even I really bad case of the stomach flue in the past? What are your tips for eating when you don’t know what to eat?

7 comments

  1. Hey love, I figure it’s time to come out of lurking and finally start commenting again. I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve been having such a hard time with your stomach, but really, you’re doing so amazingly with working around it and I hope you realize how strong and inspirational you are. I’ve suffered from a lot of stomach problems in the past, and all of your tips are things that worked really well for me, so I think you’ve got it pretty much figured out. I hope you start to feel better soon – don’t be too hard on yourself, and don’t be afraid to relax a bit. Big hugs.

    • Thank you so much for stopping by. I’m a secret lurker of your blog too, btw ;)
      Yeah, relaxing is tough for the crazy workaholic me, but I’m trying to do it more and more these days and hopefully it’ll pay off :)

  2. Whenever my stomach is acting weird, the best remedy is ginger or peppermint tea. Both are very soothing to the tummy. :) I make ginger tea by chopping up fresh ginger into small chunks (no need to peel) and boiling it for 10 minutes or so. The longer you leave the ginger in the water the stronger it will taste but you can always dilute it with more water if it comes out too strong.
    I recently had an instance where I ate a Starbucks bagel and I had stomach discomfort for the next four hours. So weird! I actually tend to do better with fruits and vegetables than any other food. I don’t think my stomach likes refined carbs very much.
    Anyway, I’m glad to hear that you are not letting your stomach issues derail your progress. Keep at it! You have a great attitude.

  3. I am sorry you are having such bad stomach problems! I feel your pain (literally) because I deal with the same types of issues, and have yet to find the cause. But I absolutely love your attitude about this. Your tips were extremely helpful. I am especially working on not making rules and obsessing over getting the perfect balance of macronutrients. On days when my stomach is acting up, I tend to eat more carb-heavy foods (cereals, toast, bananas etc) and try to lay off the raw veggies, which tend to give me issues.

    I hope you feel better, and are able to find out what works best for you. It seems like you are on the right track!

  4. My lovely Leelou, I hate to hear of you in such pain :( I do hope that the stomach/digestive issues cease soon although I completely understand the bloating/pains that certain foods do cause. Am so proud of you for continually challenging yourself with the foods, with listening to your body and with trying to relax! Isn’t it so hard to let ourselves let go and not feel guilty about “not working?” I, too, am having major issues with that.
    This week, I have not been particularly hungry, and fear a stomach flu coming along so I have been sticking to basics (oatmeal, turkey soup, light meats, dark leafy veggies, apples, plums) and of course the daily chocolate.
    Out of curiosity, is there anything wrong with eating chocolate everyday? Because some people have been commenting on that to me and I feel shaky and confused.
    Love you. <3


Leave a Reply

